h1

Thursday 13: Pet Edition

February 24, 2011

Pets have always been a big part of my life.   Like human family members, they all have their own distinct personalities and quirks.  Here are 13 of the animals I’ve been blessed to have in my family over the years.

  1. Lady.  A Dalmatian with AKC papers, her full and proper name was Firecoach Lady of Dorchester.  I remember painting her toenails on occasion, which she tolerated amazingly well.  She had a penchant for chasing cars and was hit more than once, but managed to live to be 14 years old.
  2. Spooky.  I don’t know if I will ever love a cat as much as I loved Spooky.  He was all black, and became our cat when he parked himself in the street in front of our house and held up traffic.  He had a deep, booming meow and loved to sleep under the bedcovers.  The neighborhood dogs would run up to him, barking, and he would just look at them with disdain until they gave up and left.  He was a boss cat.
  3. Squeaky.  We found Squeaky after he’d been hit by a car.  His “voice” was horribly messed up, hence the name.  He was the most easy-going cat — you could pose him, rub his belly, do pretty much anything with him and he didn’t care.
  4. Sammy.  Sammy was a Corgi/Beagle mix that was full of energy and love.  It broke my heart when she was hit by a car.
  5. Beagle.  My mom, who volunteered at the Humane Society, brought home this pregnant beagle so she wouldn’t have to have her puppies there.   She didn’t have a name, and we decided to wait and see what her personality was like before naming her.  Unfortunately, she never displayed much of a personality, so we just called her Beagle.
  6. Bertha.  One of Beagle’s pups, Bertha was my favorite.  She was the biggest pup in the litter and she was just the sweetest thing ever.  So affectionate and always happy to see me.
  7. Mocha.  Another one of Beagle’s puppies.  There was nothing she liked better than chasing tennis balls.  Throw a ball for her and she was the happiest dog on earth.
  8. Corky.  He was my roommates dog but he was so sweet that I loved him like my own.
  9. Dammit.  My first pet as an adult, he was a kitten that insisted on making noise in the middle of the night, he earned his name because I was always saying, “Be quiet, dammit,” or “Leave that alone, dammit!”  Whenever anyone asked what his name was, however, I was too embarrassed to say Dammit, so I told them it was Opie.   Dammit’s favorite place to sleep was in the bathroom sink.
  10. Daisy.  I rescued Daisy from a life on the streets when I caught her her trying to get inside the Salvation Army thrift store one winter evening.  She adores me, tolerates the other family members, and hates everyone else.  She is not the sort of cat that comes looking for affection when someone visits… but I do love her so!  She is big and fat, with a loud purr and the most expressive face I’ve ever seen on an animal.
  11. Murphy.  Our neighbor’s dog, a Border Collie, Murphy was the sweetest dog ever.  She would bark hello at me when I pulled into our driveway and whenever I petted her she would not let me stop.  She was such a mellow dog and so affectionate.  We were all so sad when she passed away last year.
  12. Valentine.  We brought Valentine home when he was 8 weeks old.  Throughout his kitten-hood and adolescence, he earned the nickname Punk because he was always into something.  Now four years old, he is slowly starting to mellow out a little bit and even gets in my lap on occasion.
  13. Sandy.  My first dog since I lived with my parents!  She is a Pekingese/Pomeranian mix (both breeds I don’t care for) and she is my baby.  As soon as I sit down in the recliner, she jumps up there with me for a cuddle.  We’ve only had her less than four months but I can’t imagine life without her.
4 comments

  1. Aww, so cute! I love dogs but am highly allergic so I haven’t had one in years. I miss their little cold noses and wiggling tails. When I was growing up we had Dalmations named Prince and Princess; they were both hit by the milk truck. That was, of course, a long time ago, back when they actually delivered milk.


  2. I like your kitty Dammit. He sounds annoying and cute. Happy TT!


  3. Great idea for a list! I enjoyed reading about all of your pets.


  4. What a sweet list! I haven’t had a pet in so very long. The closest is an outdoor cat we’ve partially adopted. Now I’m nostalgic 🙂

    Happy TT,

    ~Xakara
    13 Things



Leave a Reply

