h1

An Update on My Neurotic Cat

July 22, 2010

You may recall we were having some peculiar litterbox issues with my beloved tabby cat, Daisy.  Well, when I took her to the vet for her annual shots earlier this month, I mentioned it to the vet.  After careful consideration, the vet suggested putting Daisy on Prozac.

Oh yes, you read that correctly!  It was all I could do to keep a straight face.  I knew countless people who would find this hysterical, mainly because Daisy has treated them with sheer contempt.  Quite often, the contempt would appear within ten seconds of an affectionate rub up against that same person’s leg.

If ever there was a cat that needed Prozac, it’s my Daisy.  I usually tell people that she loves me and just tolerates the other members of our household.  All other humans are considered The Enemy.

So there I was in the vet’s office, torn between laughing hysterically and demanding to know why no one mentioned the possibility of kitty Prozac to me any sooner.  When I check out, they hand me a small bottle of chicken flavored liquid Prozac ($116) to give Daisy every day.

I’ve missed a few days but for the most part she’s had it every day for the past 3 weeks or so.  Surprisingly, it’s helped a great deal with her litterbox problem…. she is going where she’s supposed to.

Problem is… now she hates me.  Between the hours of 2 pm and 10 pm, she hisses at me any time I get within two feet of her.  The only time she tolerates me now is in the morning, when I am allowed to pet her and she will purr.  All other times I get bared fangs and crinkled nose and a faintly audible hiss.

I miss the unconditional love.  Maybe I should get a dog.

One comment

  1. unconditional dog love is so much easier to understand and enjoy. However, cats provide such entertainment…. I take it you are the pill issuer so that makes you ‘enemy’ now as well. No fun. Good luck.



Leave a Reply

