h1

The Uninvited Guest

February 22, 2010

I’ve been plagued in the last month and a half by an uninvited guest.  He’s a hanger-on and a nuisance.  I don’t like him, and I don’t want him here.

I’ve tried to ignore him but he won’t let me.  No matter how hard I try, he is always in my face, waving his arms and telling me he won’t go away.  Sometimes he springs out at me from dark corners when I least expect it.  Other times, he pops up exactly when I most expect him to.

He asks questions that I don’t want to think about, let alone try to answer.  He taunts me, insinuates unpleasant things about me, and provokes me to the point of tears.

Most days he gets to my daughter first.  She’s an easier target, not as toughened up as her mom.  But once she reaches her breaking point, I quickly reach mine too.  He knows what he’s doing, that uninvited guest.

His name is grief, and I’m tired of dealing with him.  Or, more to the point, tired of not dealing with him.  Guess it’s time to face him head-on.

Leave a Reply

