h1

Rockin’ Birthday Weekend

September 27, 2009

Wednesday was my birthday and while the day itself was rather low key (Dan and I went mattress shopping), the weekend has totally rocked!

Friday night I dropped the kids off at my mom’s so Dan and I could head to the local resort town for their end-of-summer festival. There were crafts (I did some early Christmas shopping) and great food, but best of all, there was Little Big Town in concert. They were fabulous! Didn’t interact with/talk to the audience much, but performed for nearly 1.5 hours, and did all of my favorites.

the band

THEN, on Saturday, my good friend Suzanne drove down for a visit. She and I returned to the festival with another friend of mine, and we went to see my high school pop star idol, Rick Springfield in concert.

I had won VIP tickets and backstage passes from a local radio station, and I don’t know what I was expecting exactly, but our VIP seats were actually to the left of the stage, behind the curtain. I was as giddy and nervous as a school girl while we waited for Rick to come out. When he did, I got over my nerves and enjoyed the show. He was very high-energy and totally rocked the place for 1.5 hours. I was tired just watching him.

Oh, and for his encore songs, he came out with no shirt…

bare chest 1

After the concert we were ushered backstage to have our picture taken with Rick.  Due to time constraints, we weren’t able to use our own cameras, so I will have to wait a few days before I get to see the picture.  I can’t tell you how cool it was to be standing next to him with his arm around my shoulders!  *swoon*

It was an amazing weekend filled with good music and great friends. Happy birthday to me!

One comment

  1. […] Little Big Town in concert.  I could have listened to them all […]



Leave a Reply

