h1

Thursday 13: Rude Behaviors That Get On My Last Nerve

August 27, 2009

I turned on Oprah today to kill time before fixing dinner.  The show topic was rudeness.  So, here are 13 behviors that I really find annoying.

  1. Cashiers — most often of the fast food variety — who don’t acknowledge you.  They just stare at you blankly and wait for you to place an order.  How hard is it to say, “Hi, may I help you?”  Five words, all monosyllabic.  It’s not too much to expect.
  2. Children who do not respond when they are asked a question… and the parents who let them do it.  Now, I’m not talking about toddlers who may be shy or unaccustomed to being spoken to by strangers.  I’m talking about children who know the person addressing them and are intelligent/old enough to answer a simple query.  Rude, rude, rude!
  3. I dislike text / instant messaging in general, but I find in particularly rude when someone sends his/her message in five little fragments rather than a solid paragraph of 2 or 3 sentences.  While I’m typing a response to IM#1, I get ping-ping-ping-pinged by the rest of the message.  Makes me crazy.
  4. Which brings me to interruptions.  I swear, some days all I want to be able to do is to get from A to B without having to stop because I’ve been interrupted.  My kids are the worst culprits of this behavior, particularly when I am talking to someone.  If I keep talking and don’t respond to the interruption, they repeat themselves. Over and OVER, increasing in both volume and frequency.  Until I totally lose it and snap, “What?!??!” and they look at me as if to say, “Sheesh, what’s her problem?”  (Argh.  I think my blood pressure spiked just from typing that.)
  5. People who stare at the (TV, computer, cell phone/PDA) while I am talking to them.  There are many people in my life who do this, but I love them anyway.
  6. People who use profanity within earshot of children — mine or anyone else’s.   That is just uncalled for.
  7. Tardiness.  There are a few people in my life who are chronically late, but I love them anyway.  Still ticks me off, though.  Worse yet is when they make me late.  Then I’m rude by association.
  8. People who don’t respect/comply with your requests to stop sending junk email.  God has already blessed me, an angel will not appear on the screen if I forward it within 3 minutes, Bill Gates does not want to give me any money for forwarding an email to my entire address book, Juicy Fruit gum will not make you infertile, the government is not taking “In God We Trust” off of our currency, and even if all of that was true, I have more important things to concern myself with.  Do you honestly think that you will hear about something like that via email before you will see it on TV or in a newspaper?!?!
  9. People who will spend the better part of an hour telling you all about their doctor’s appointment, the things they’ve purchased in the last month, whether or not it’s time to get their car serviced, etc. without once asking what is going on with you.
  10. Excessively loud music, especially when combined with open car windows.  If I can hear the “boom-boom-boom” of your bass over my own music, it’s too flippin’ loud.  And if it’s making the fillings in my teeth rattle…. well, let me just say that needing a hearing aid at the age of 35 is NOT cool.
  11. Talking about how much you spent on something (unless you got it for a steal).  Terribly uncouth.  And honestly, I’m not sure if talking about what a great bargain you found isn’t rude, either.  If it is a sort of “reverse snobbery,” then I’m most definitely guilty.  😦
  12. People who see that a two lane road is about to become a one lane road and instead of merging when they come to that realization, they zip on up to the end of the lane that is closing.  I guess it’s because they are too important to wait in line like the rest of us.  Hmph.
  13. I think that most of these can be best summed up as thinking more of yourself than you do those around you, and that is indeed the ugliest rudeness of all.  Expecting the world to bow to your demands, place your priorities first, and basically revolve around you is not only rude, it is the root of every behavior listed above.  Society as a whole has become too self-focused.  What used to be called common courtesy is no longer common.  Instead of treating others with the “Golden Rule,” we say,  “I’ll do what I want and if they don’t like it, eff ’em!”
One comment

  1. I agree with you on so many of these! One of my biggest pet peeves is #1.



Leave a Reply

