h1

A Friendly Reminder: It’s a PHONE

August 17, 2009

This past weekend, my family and I traveled to Baltimore.  While there, we took in a baseball game (the Orioles lost 5-1), stayed in a luxurious hotel suite (booked for $75 on Priceline), and visited the National Aquarium.

I seriously underestimated how big an attraction the Aquarium was.  We arrived around 11:00 AM and stood in line to buy tickets for our admission.  It was a tad disappointing to learn that the earliest we could get in would be  1:45 PM.  Thankfully, there was a Barnes & Noble nearby.  We browsed and read and Sophia completed their summer reading club in less than two hours, earning herself a free book.

You would think that a place that has to dole out assigned admission times nearly three hours in advance would have a good grip on crowd control, wouldn’t you?  I did.  But I was wrong.

It was SO packed in there.  People were shoulder to shoulder, all crammed into tiny little alcoves to get a look at the tanks.  I heard at least four different languages being spoken (Russian, Spanish, Indian and Japanese).  It was HOT.  It was HUMID.  It was STINKY.

It was like one REALLY LONG hot flash.  Ugh.

So, between the heat and the crowds, I got pretty cranky.  However, I took comfort in being able to take photos of the animals and exhibits there.  It gave me something to focus on besides the crowds and the heat.

Except.

Time after time, I found myself waiting for someone else to take a picture before I could take mine.  And that’s okay.  I have NO problem extending that courtesy to others.

Except.

Time after time, the person took the photo, viewed the results, decided that it wasn’t very good, deleted it, and tried again.  REPEATEDLY.

And since I was standing there getting jostled and bumped by the crowds, sweat dripping down the sides of my face, I had plenty of time to realize why these photography scenarios were playing out the way they were.

Because the tourists were using their cell phones to take pictures.  Now, I’m no techno-geek, but I do know that cell phone cameras have (if you’re lucky) 3 megapixels and limited memory.

In other words, OF COURSE you’re not going to get a good photo on your phone.  If you want great pictures, use a camera!

I used a camera… and look what I got:

nemo 1

jellyfish 6

puffer fish

Leave a Reply

