h1

Booking Through Thursday: Preferences

July 23, 2009

Which do you prefer?

  • Reading something frivolous? Or something serious?  mostly frivolous.  There’s enough serious in real life.
  • Paperbacks? Or hardcovers?  Paperbacks.  Carpal tunnel makes hardcovers difficult to hold with one hand.  However, when I decide to keep a book for my personal “library,” I prefer hard cover.
  • Fiction? Or Nonfiction?  Fiction for the most part.
  • Poetry? Or Prose?   Prose.
  • Biographies? Or Autobiographies?   Since most of the people I find interesting lived hundreds of years ago, I would have to say biographies.
  • History? Or Historical Fiction?    Tie.  I love both.
  • Series? Or Stand-alones?   Stand alones.  Every series reaches a point where it just isn’t as good as it once was.
  • Classics? Or best-sellers?   Neither.  I find that in most cases I don’t like the books that “everyone” likes.
  • Lurid, fruity prose? Or straight-forward, basic prose?  Basic.  I don’t like an overuse of adjectives.
  • Plots? Or Stream-of-Consciousness?   Plot.
  • Long books? Or Short?  Long if it’s a good book, short if it isn’t.  🙂
  • Illustrated? Or Non-illustrated?  No preference.
  • Borrowed? Or Owned?   Owned.
  • New? Or Used?  New.  There’s something about being the first person to crack open a book… the way it smells and feels are just different when it’s new.

See more readers’ preferences at the Booking Through Thursday blog.

2 comments

  1. Great answers! The name of my blog is “Well-Mannered Frivolity” – can you guess what my answer to number 1 was? It was hard to choose between some of the answers this week though…


  2. I find it difficult to capture my reading behavior in multiple choices!

    I prefer a plot-driven novel that slowly unfolds in fruity and lush prose, with multiple layers and allusion that indulge my mind long after I turn the last page like the lingering aftertaste of a good glass of wine.



Leave a Reply

