h1

Cow Pats

April 21, 2009

On Thursday of last week, I became elegible for a new cell phone.  On Friday morning, I went to Ye Old Verizon Shoppe to get a new phone because my old one was just not meeting my needs any more.

Well, as it happened, the store was running a special — buy a Blackberry and get any phone of equal or lesser value for free.  Who can resist a deal like that?  Certainly not me!  And it just so happenedthat Dan had finally gotten to the point where he realized his phone was not very reliable.  (Something I’ve been saying for years.)

After much deliberation and phone consultation and wandering around the store, I decided I wanted the LG en-V2, and would get a Blackberry Storm for Dan in order to take advantage of the BOGO deal.

Some of you may think I’m crazy for giving him such a fancy phone instead of keeping it for myself.  But the truth is, I don’t particularly like fancy.  The Storm is leaps and bounds ahead of my old phone, and I just don’t have the time (read: patience) to figure it all out.  Plus, I would probably have to read the manual.

So, Dan has been playing around with the Storm, customizing it to make it his phone, adding all his favorite songs and sound clips to it. One such sound clip is a line from a Blackadder series:

The path of my life is strewn with cow pats from the Devil’s own satanic herd!

It is an oddly phrased line, yet it is delivered with much gusto.   (Go ahead, click on it so you can hear for yourself!)

I raised an eyebrow at Dan and said, “You aren’t going to make that your ring tone, are you?”  (That question mark is there only for propriety’s sake.  It was most definitely not a question.)

Well, thankfully, he didn’t.  But he did set it as his email notification tone.  I learned this at 1:45 Monday morning when I awoke from a sound sleep to hear that phrase.  And then again, about 15 minutes later, just as I was drifting back to sleep.

I think I may have created a monster.

2 comments

  1. BWHAHAHAHA!! Blackadder is awesome! That is fantastic. ::considering getting it for my own phone:: 🙂


  2. […] new cell phones, including a Blackberry Storm for […]



Leave a Reply

