h1

Paradox

April 6, 2009

Today I had the pleasure (and surprisingly, I say that without even a hint of sarcasm) of serving as chaperon on my son’s field trip to Washington DC.

When we saw a painting by Claude Monet of the bridge and water lilies at his home in Giverny, I naturally wanted to take a picture of it because way back when (1984) I had stood on that very bridge.  I caught the eye of a National Gallery security guard and asked if I could take a photo.  He said yes.  I added, “without a flash, though, right?”  To my amazement, he told me that I could use my flash.

Later, we were in the Hirshhorn Museum of Modern Art, when I took a picture of a painting by Trevor’s favorite artist, Rene Magritte.  The guard came rushing over and told me that I was not allowed to use flash photography anywhere in the museum.

Or, put another way…

ss850624

Claude Monet?  Flash Okay.

ss850648

Louise Bourgeois?  No Flash.  (Actually, I wasn’t even supposed to take any kind of photo in this particular exhibit, flash or not.)

I don’t get it.

2 comments

  1. Here’s one crazy reason…Louise is still alive and kicking, thus copyright issues etc. granted she is in her 90’s and still doing art!! May we be so lucky, scrapbook-woman. 🙂


  2. […] Chaperoned Trevor’s field trip to Washington DC. […]



Leave a Reply

