h1

Love/Hate

March 24, 2009

Let me say right up front that I don’t believe in astrology.

However, if ever I did see a good argument for the accuracy of zodiac signs having specific personality traits, it would be my two children.  My two GEMINI children. 

Love to talk?  Check!  Surplus of imagination?  Check!  Fickle and restless?  Oh, yes indeedy… check! 

Living with one such child was somewhat less of a challenge than living with two has been.  Conflicts arise with all the force of a hurricane blowing through my living room, and die down almost as quickly.  Often going from one extreme to the other in the space of just a few minutes!

And there is nothing either of my children is as fickle about as their sibling.  Sometimes they adore each other.  At other times, they can’t even stand having the other one look at them.

So it wasn’t too surprising when Sophia handed me this series of notes in the car a few days ago:

"Sophia, Sophia, what do you see? I see a whining brother whining at me. That is what I see."

"Sophia, Sophia, what do you see? I see a whining brother whining at me. That is what I see."

 

"And sometimes I see this. I see a lovable brother looking at me. That is what I see."

"And sometimes I see this. I see a lovable brother looking at me. That is what I see."

 

"And sometimes I see this... a big mean bad stubbborn and annoying brother bossing me around and that is what I see. I mean that is what I see. I can't even draw a picture. I mean it!"

"And sometimes I see this... a big mean bad stubbborn and annoying brother bossing me around and that is what I see. I mean that is what I see. I can't even draw a picture. I mean it!"

Leave a Reply

