h1

Marriage Meme

February 20, 2009

What are your middle names?
My middle name is Ann (I think there was a law at the time that all girls had to have the middle name Ann, Lynn, or Marie).  Dan’s middle name is Gordon, after his mother’s stepfather.

How long have you been together?
We’ve been married nine years, together eleven and a half.

How long did you know each other before you started dating?
We started dating about a month after we met.

Who asked whom out?
He asked me out.

How old are each of you?
We are both 42 but he is older by about 6 weeks. He was born 3 months prematurely, so he likes to say that he was born first but I was conceived first.

Whose siblings do you see the most?
He has a sister who lives in Minnesota.  I have a brother who lives in Virginia.  We don’t see either of them very much.

Which situation is the hardest on you as a couple?
Dealing with a teenage son.  We agree on the problem but have different approaches on the solution(s).  However, we always back each other up, even when we disagree.

Did you go to the same school?
No.

Are you from the same home town?
No, but our home towns are only about 40 miles apart .

Who is smarter?
Dan is smarter about math & science things.  I am smarter about language and history things.  We complement each other nicely, especially when helping the kids with school work.

Who is the most sensitive?
Probably me.  I’m always worried about inconveniencing someone else, being late, and/or saying something that might be misinterpreted as offensive.  And I cry at movies a lot.

Where do you eat out most as a couple?
As a couple with children, I would have to be honest and say McDonalds.  As a couple who is trying to curb dining out expenses, I would have to be honest and say McDonalds.  If this were a perfect world, I would be saying Olive Garden.

Where is the furthest you two have traveled together as a couple?
England, for a belated honeymoon in May 2000.

Who has the craziest exes?
I’m not sure.  We don’t really talk about them much.  Probably a toss up.

Who has the worst temper?
Unfortunately, that would be me.   He truly is my better half.

Who does the cooking?
Me.  Would  I trust someone who once made “Gizzard Helper” in my kitchen?  Certainly not!

Who is the neat-freak?
Oh good gracious.  If you know either of us, you know the answer to that one:  Me.  My standards have dropped considerably since we got married, though.

Who is more stubborn?
Again, me.

Who hogs the bed?
The cat, most of the time.

Who wakes up earlier?
Dan, nearly every day.  Mama Bear needs a lot of sleep.

Where was your first date?
At my apartment, because it was spur of the moment and Trevor was sleeping. It was an impromptu celebration of the fact that I had just bought my first house that day.

Who is more jealous?
I am.  Just mention the name Daphne to me and watch my jaw clench.  Or Rose.

How long did it take to get serious?
I think within about two months I knew he was the man for me.  Maybe even less than that.

Who eats more?
Dan.  Never take him to a buffet unless you can stay for a while.  He will get his money’s worth.  And then some.

Who does the laundry?
Me.  He would do it if I wanted him to, though.

Who’s better with the computer?
One of my pet names for him is Tech Support.

Who drives when you are together?
He does, unless he’s tired or I’m feeling stressed about how late we are going to be.

Feel free to answer some or all of the same questions about your spouse in the comments, or leave a link to your website if you prefer answering there.

One comment

  1. I love it–a MEME I can answer! Tom & Suzanne
    Middle names: Adrienne and Mackey (my name already has an Anne in it)

    Togetherness: Married almost 17; known each other over 19 years

    Knowing before dating: None, computer matched us up and we started dating slowly/infrequently at first.

    Who asked whom: I think I did after our 1 hour long ‘get to know you phone call’ I just said did he want to get together that evening (both home with nothing to do) and he said Yes (silly guy, little did he know where it would lead him…)

    First Date: We ended up that evening going to the state (not county) fair!

    Age: 44 and 43
    Siblings: we each have two–one of which is local and one of which is half the country away. We see his youngest, local, brother the most out of the 4 siblings.

    Hardest situation: money talk/saving plan

    Same school: no but ironically same county school system.

    Same town: almost bordering suburbs of DC (well except for his childhood stint in Chile)

    Smarter: Define smarter? I don’t know, similar levels but different strengths

    Sensitive: BOTH but at different things…he, however, knows how to push those sensitivity spots on me better!

    Eating out: no one specific place, living in urban area we try different things once or twice a month

    Furthest together as couple: European cities on different trips–France, Austria and Italy

    Crazy Exes? none really

    Hot Temper & cooking: me, hot under the collar easily but then let it generally boil over quickly. And I also do most of the cooking but he’s willing to learn.

    Neat freak: He is the neatfreak monk of the family and I collect things (stuff).

    Stubborn: I insist it is me, no him, no me.

    Bed hog: He is blanket hog because the cat (and now dog) are the bed hogs!

    Early riser: by nature he is but by dog command now I am.

    Jealousy: hidden more than obvious so I’m not really sure. Fortunately nothing really to be jealous of except occasional days off one has when the other does not.

    Got serious: Long time for it to really be serious, serious by admission (him). For me, I thought he was it after about 1 year (and traveling together alot).

    Eat more: sadly, me.

    Laundry: thankfully he is, mr. meticulous.
    Computer: and he is the computer geek tech support

    Driving mr. daisy: He is willing to drive daytimes, I do nighttimes especially on long trips.



Leave a Reply

