h1

First Crush

February 12, 2009

I guess it had to happen sooner or later.  (Later would have been better, though.)  Sophia has a crush on a boy at her school.

She boldly announced to me one day that she was “in love”  with Austin (not his real name).  Then, when we went through our neighborhood to sell Girl Scout cookies, she insisted that we go to his house.  Problem was, she didn’t know exactly where his house was.  Neither did I.

So we walked and walked until we spotted him outside playing.  She was so excited to see him on a Saturday, outside of school!  He, like most boys this age, was oblivious to the fact that she was looking at him with a rather ga-ga expression on her face.

Then, a week or so ago, we were having dinner at the local pizza place when she asked me if she could take my phone with her into the bathroom.  (I immediately pictured my phone sinking to the bottom of a public toilet and asked WHY she would need to take the phone into the bathroom with her.)  She wanted to call her best friend and tell her a secret.

I asked her what was so important that she had to call her friend (whom she would see in about 14 hours anyway).  She came over to me and whispered in my ear, “Austin asked me to swing with him today.” She was grinning from ear to ear.

“He did?”  I responded with a sly grin of my own.

She nodded emphatically, then leaned in to whisper again.  “AND we touched elbows!”

Oh.  My.  Word.  Can you imagine how hard it was for me to not burst out laughing?!?   I managed to restrain myself and just smiled at her again.  I half expected her to tell me she was never going to wash that elbow again.

Fast forward a bit to last night.  She is looking over the Girl Scout cookie order form and decides she is going to copy Austin’s phone number off of it.

“What do you need his number for?” I asked.

“Oh, you know,” she replied, trying her best to sound like a teenager.  “Just in case…”

I have a feeling there’s a long, turbulent journey through adolescence ahead of me…

2 comments

  1. Ah sigh, the signs of spring is in the air…those bees & birdies are gearing up…good luck mom! 🙂


  2. I thought it was so adorable . I was remebering the embaressing memories that my mother used to remind me of



Leave a Reply

