h1

The Worst Date Ever

January 22, 2009

Not too long after my divorce in 1995 and well before I met Dan, I accepted a date with a mild-mannered school teacher.  I don’t remember where we went or what we did, except that he wanted to watch a movie called The Freshman, which had something to do with the mob and a Komodo Dragon.  (My recent fascination with Komodo Dragons has brought this gentleman to mind.)

Anyhoo, at some point while I was on this date, I was contacted by the police.  They wanted to know if I was okay.  I said yes.  Then they wanted to know if they could stop by my apartment to see for themselves.

Needless to say, I was alarmed, but I agreed.

They came to my apartment and looked around.  They asked me to introduce my date.  They asked where we had been that evening and at what times.  I was more bewildered than I was freaking out.

Finally they told me that my mother had been alarmed.  She was concerned that I’d been the victim of foul play (read “crazy ex husband”) because I had failed to pick up my son from daycare.  The daycare center had called her, asking if she knew where I was.  She didn’t, so she called the police.

(You know how on the TV shows the frantic relative calls to report a missing person and the jaded policeman on the other end of the line tells them they have to wait 48 hours before a person can be considered missing?  Not in my town!)

I didn’t know whether to laugh or scream.  It was a simple misunderstanding.

I had asked my mom to pick Trevor up that day so that I could go out to dinner with the nice school teacher.  She forgot, and I didn’t call to remind her.  She said that among other things, the police had asked her if she knew who my dentist was… and she realized that they wanted to know so they could get dental records to identify my burned/mutilated body if necessary.  We come from a long line of worriers, so I’m sure this was enough to send her over the edge.  I myself probably would have fainted.

Now (and honestly, even then) it was pretty funny.

I never did go out with Mr. School Teacher again.  He was probably afraid of me after that.  🙂

Leave a Reply

