h1

Works for Me Wednesday: Thinking Ahead

January 7, 2009

I haven’t done a WFMW post in a while, mainly because I feel like I’ve already shared my best tips.  Also because — on my worst days — I spend a lot of time feeling as if I don’t have my act together, and on those days, nothing is really working for me. 

However, last night I surprised myself with a bit of forward/proactive thinking.  We met some friends for dinner at Panera Bread (yum!) and planned to spend an hour or so browsing through the Barnes & Noble that was located in the same shopping center. 

Between us, we had five children.  And the Barnes & Noble has a Starbucks.  One that sells those big-as-your-whole-hand chocolate chip cookies that cost $2 each.

Kids can’t help but ask for those cookies.  They’re so big!  They have huge chunks of chocolate in them!  But I can’t justify paying that kind of money for a cookie.  I fully anticipated the children asking for cookies, and I fully anticipated the whiny poutiness that I would be subjected to when I said, “no.”

What do we teach our children to do when they experience such a conflict?  Compromise, of course!  So, while we were at Panera and the kids were distracted, I bought a bag of a dozen chocolate chip cookies for $4.29.  They are smaller, sure, but 12 cookies will go a lot farther than the two I would have gotten for the same price at Starbucks.

I didn’t offer the cookies right away; just tucked them in my purse where no one would see them.  Then, when the kids asked for the Starbucks monstah cookie, I pulled them out, offered them all around, and enjoyed one myself. 

More cookies, less money, no whining.  I was pretty pleased with that!

It wouldn’t have been possible if I hadn’t thought about how the next hour would unfold.  Thinking ahead allows you to be prepared, which is a lot easier on the nerves and the pocketbook.  I need to do it more often.

2 comments

  1. Kids….gotta love em!

    I wanna cookie too!


  2. Cute…I wish my mom would have done that for me! 🙂



Leave a Reply

