h1

Dear Jason Miraz

January 7, 2009

Your song, “I’m Yours,” is quite the catchy little tune.  Whenever I hear it on the radio, I find myself humming along. It’s got such a pleasant tune and lyrics, it almost reminds me of the Andy Griffith Show’s whistling theme song.  I picture myself meandering down that scenic path in Mayberry….

Until, that is, we get to the following line:

And it’s our god-forsaken right to be loved

At which point, I feel like someone has just forced me to slam on the brakes because an ambulance is barreling down the single lane road heading straight toward me, lights flashing and sirens blaring.

Don’t you really mean it’s our God-given right to be loved?  After all, godforsaken is generally used to describe places… ugly, barren, remote places.  To forsake something means to turn one’s back on it, give up on it, abandon it.

To quote Inigo Montoya, “You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.”

I won’t argue whether or not we have a “right” to be loved, but I will argue your poor choice of words.  😉

Leave a Reply

