h1

Relationships Today

November 8, 2008

A striking quote from The Reading Group by Elizabeth Noble:

When you had a busy life and a crowded head, you sometimes ticked off boxes next to the name of people and things you cared about.  Made them like juggling balls in your perpetual circus act that you didn’t have to keep an eye on at any particular time.  Things you didn’t have to worry about, not just now.

I am so guilty of this!

And yet Friday night, I got together with three friends.  We had dinner at Panera and stayed there for close to three hours, catching up on what has been happening in our lives and sharing our current parenthood challenges.  From there we moved on to Barnes & Noble, where we chatted and browsed for about 45 minutes,  Two of them left at that point, while the third and I went to the movies.  (We saw “Changeling” — see my review in the sidebar.)

What amazes me is that before I left home I was feeling tired and run down.  I briefly considered canceling out. But when I got out of the movie theatre at nearly 1 AM, I was feeling alive again.  Being with my friends was like a breath of fresh air — it revived me, made me happy.

I need to work on investing my time in the people I love, not just ticking off boxes next to their names.  Do you?

2 comments

  1. Guilty as charged, even to the point of having to “schedule” a phone call on my to-do list. Not something I’m proud of, just something that helps me remember. It’s only after spending some much needed time with friends that you realize how nurturing and soothing those relationships are, and then begs the question…why aren’t I making more time for this? 🙂


  2. So true, my friend! I can’t wait to see you for all of the reasons you mentioned! I was just lamenting, however, how hard it is to follow through with the quick “thinking of you” moments that occur throughout the day to make it more of a thought of you AND actually called/wrote you! 🙂



Leave a Reply

