h1

Raising Eyebrows at the Goodwill

November 4, 2008

After we dropped Trevor off at his cell group meeting this evening, Dan and I took Sophia for a little shopping at Goodwill.  I found a cute Limited Too outfit for her, a cat dish personalized with “Attack Cat,” and a Max Lucado Christmas book.  Dan got some techie stuff too.  I don’t know what it was, but it made the total hit $20.

Anyhoo, as Sophia and I were browsing through the girls clothing section, the cashier announced, “I need a void at the register.”

From behind me, I heard Sophia ask, “What do they need a boy for?”

I kept flipping through the clothes.  The store was going to close soon and they kept announcing every ten minutes that you’d better hurry up and finish your shopping OR ELSE.  No pressure.  As I pushed the hangers from right to left, I said, “Not a boy, honey.  A void.”

Either I didn’t say it clearly or she was sure she heard it correctly her way.  “What kind of boy do they need?  A regular ole boy or a manly man?”

I stopped in my tracks for a second and asked myself if I had really heard what I thought I had just heard — manly man?!?!?!?  Yep.  Then I looked around to see if anyone was within earshot.  Sure enough, there was a woman two aisles over who was looking at me and trying her hardest not to laugh.

So I explained to my darling angel what a void was and why they might need to do one at the register.  Good grief, the things kids will say!

Leave a Reply

