h1

Works for Me Wednesday: Finding the Remotes

October 22, 2008

One of my big pet peeves is that I am the only person in my home (I say this completely without exaggeration) who puts the remote controls in a designated spot when finished using them. I place them on top of the television, WHERE THEY BELONG.

The other three inhabitants of this house leave them wedged in chair cushions, amid piles of shoes on the floor, or on already cluttered desk tops — the result of which is that usually when I want to find the remote controls, I spend some time trying to find them.

This annoys me.

(It also annoys me that we have four remotes in the den, three in the living room, and three in our bedroom. And that it takes at least two remotes to watch anything on TV. And that some of these devices can’t be worked manually.  But those are different issues.)

Because most of the furnishings in our TV rooms are dark colored and we do most of our TV viewing at night, finding the remotes is an even bigger challenge.  Particularly since every last one of them is either black or drab gray.

I think I’ve finally come up with a solution! I put a small piece of hot pink duct tape on the front and back of each remote control.  The hot pink sticks out like a sore thumb, and when we couldn’t find the remote for the digital converter box the other night, I scanned the room.  There on the floor, next to Sophia’s umpteen pairs of shoes, I saw a bright pink rectangle.  It took me all of fifteen seconds to find it.

Wahoo!

(I also put a small bit of the duct tape on my cell phone, as it’s another small, dark colored and highly necessary object that tends to get misplaced easily.)

5 comments

  1. Wow…you can’t miss that…great idea!
    -Sandy Toes


  2. Really good idea! Thank goodness we only have one for each tv or I would go CRAZY!


  3. lol Great tip!
    My kids often SOMEHOW bury their’s so I ran a piece of yarn from the tv to it…..you wouldn’t believe how many times I saw them ‘running the line’ to find the remote!


  4. Wow, brilliant idea! I should do that with my glasses, LOL! I’m always losing them. The frames are brown…and thin like wires. So you know what happens if I put them down near anything with a wire coming out of the back…they get camouflaged! (sp?) I should at least paint the ends hot pink, LOL!


  5. What a great idea! I have never seen neon pink duct tape here though. Hmmm. I think a trip to Lowe’s is in order.



Leave a Reply

