h1

Works for Me Wednesday: The Greatest Spice Rack Ever

October 1, 2008

This post was originally published on July 8, 2006.

I got a new spice rack this week and it is absolutely wonderful! I previously owned a 12-jar spice rack, but found two major problems with it. One, I own more than 12 spices (and as I try new recipes, the number keeps creeping upward). Two, the pretty glass jars that came with that rack hold slightly less than the bottles I buy at the grocery store… which meant that I had a full jar on the spice rack and a mostly-but-not-quite empty jar on the counter next to it.

A couple of months ago, I ran across this spice rack, which I thought might be an answer to my spice rack dilemma. However, I just couldn’t bring myself to spend $30-35 on a plastic box. Then I found some discount codes and a free shipping deal, and I bought it.

It is the most wonderful thing to ever grace my kitchen! This spice rack holds 27 full-size or 54 half-size bottles, yet the entire cabinet is just 8″H x 11″W x 10¾”D. It barely takes up more room than my old rack! Definitely worth every penny!

5 comments

  1. I love the pull down feature of the drawers! It looks similar to something my mom raved about last time we visited too. Kudos to you and your spices! Happy cooking.


  2. Looks great! I might have to try that. Have a nice week!


  3. I love it. I love that it holds the bottles instead of making you fill little glass bottles.

    Did you know that spices can only be kept for 6-12 months? I have some that are many years old.


  4. This is the coolest thing! Thanks for sharing, I have never seen one like this!


  5. I really like that. Currently, I use two turntables on the cabinet shelf. I just give one a spin and whatever I need comes to the front so that I can reach it. One is for spices used cooking meats or vegetables. The other is for extracts and spices used cooking sweets.



Comments are closed.

