h1

Speed Bumps

October 1, 2008

The Sam’s Club here used to have the most amazingly obnoxious speed bumps in their parking lot.  They were four inches high and every time you rode over them — no matter how slow you were going — they would jolt you so hard you’d feel like the fillings would fall right out of your teeth.

Over the past few months, I’ve found that life has its own set of speed bumps.  Maybe you can relate?

For the first part of this year, everything was going along just fine.  I was happy, fulfilled, without a care in the world.  I had disposable income for the first time in YEARS, my marriage was great, my kids were good, my family was healthy, etc.  Then all of a sudden…

BUMP! My dad gets diagnosed as having a brain tumor.  Not only a brain tumor, but a brain tumor that was originally diagnosed in 2004 and then dismissed as an AVM.  So for four years the tumor has grown, complicating the possibility of its removal and greatly impacting my dad’s health.

After months of accompanying my dad to doctor’s appointments and hospital tests, we finally get to move forward.  Life is starting to feel a little more under control.  Then…

BUMP! Several situations at my church come to a head and I realize that I am spiritually starving.  It becomes nearly impossible for me to focus on God when I am in church because of all the political nonsense, secrecy, and in-fighting.  God led me to leave the church and get my focus back on Him.  With great sadness for the people I left behind, I did.

I am attending a new church now, feeling spiritually fed for the first time in months and very slowly healing from the experiences at my old church.  It is my prayer that those experiences will not prevent me from serving and worshipping God in the way that He desires.  And while I am healing and reconnecting with God…

BUMP! Trevor does something that is so wrong, he gets a five day suspension from school.  I can’t go into details here because I am so outraged and embarrassed by his behavior.  Suffice it to say that it was like a punch to the stomach for me.  It just happened yesterday, so I am still somewhat in shock.

However, I am trusting God to guide me over this speed bump and prepare me for the next.  The purpose of a speed bump, after all, is not to force us to come to a screeching halt, but rather to slow down, reassess, and move forward with caution.

One comment

  1. Girl, I have been praying and praying for you!



Leave a Reply

