h1

A Letter from Ethiopia

September 26, 2008

This afternoon I received a wonderful letter from the girl I sponsor through Compassion International.  It said:

Dear Julie ________,

How are you doing?  I am alright.  Thank you for your letter and picture.  You are so beautiful.  With your birthday gift I got clothes, a pair of shoes, a pair of socks, bread, and picture.  With your continuous assistance I have got clothes, a pair of socks, a pair of underpants, T-shirt, stationery, a sack of grain, vegetable oil, hair care, a bar of soap, and had a trip.

My sister’s name is Lidya (2).  My mother’s name is Fedila.  I run errands for my mother.  I play with my sister.  What do your children like to play?  I like playing with toys.  Send me your cat’s picture.  I like eating potato and banana.  What are your daughter’s favorite things?

I learn Sunday School lesson.  In the project I learn a health lesson.   We don’t have a pet.

Thank you for your prayers about me.  I had an eye-ache but now I am alright.  Pray for me.  My family extends their best regards to you.  I love you.  So long.

My heart just soared when I read this letter.  First, that my little birthday gift of $10 bought her so many things!  Second, that she is benefiting so much from my monthly support of $32 .  What a big difference it’s made in her life! And mine…

4 comments

  1. Thank you for using your on-line voice to speak for Compassion and the poor.

    -Shaun
    CompassionBloggers.com


  2. How wonderful! It makes us realize how truly blessed we are.


  3. Amen!


  4. Wonderful! What a blessing (for both of you)!



Leave a Reply

