h1

I Must Be Doing Something Right

September 8, 2008

Every night after we say prayers and read a bedtime story, I sing a little song for Sophia.  I would call it a lullaby except that usually it’s either “Silent Night” or an altered version of “Hush Little Baby.”

The “Hush Little Baby” song is from Bed Bugs by David Carter.  It goes like this:

Hush, little buggies, safe and snug,
Mama’s gonna buy you a mocking bug.
If that mocking bug won’t sing
Mama’s gonna buy you a ruby ring.
If that ruby ring gets broke
Mama’s gonna buy you a billy goat.
If that billy goat falls over
Mama’s gonna buy you a cat named Rover.
If that cat named Rover lies down
You’ll still be the cutest little buggies in town.

Well, the other night as I finished singing it, Sophia opened her eyes and said, “Mom, I think that’s wrong.”

“What was wrong?” I’m used to her correcting me if I accidentally flub a lyric or two.

“The song.  It’s just wasteful.  They buy something, then it breaks, so they go out and buy something else.  The buggies don’t need all that stuff!”

“You’re absolutely right,” I said, and gave her a kiss on the forehead.

Leave a Reply

