h1

Booking Through Thursday: Peer Pressure

September 4, 2008

This is my first time participating in “Booking Through Thursday.” When I read today’s post, I knew I had to jump right in:

I was looking through books yesterday at the shops and saw all the Twilight books, which I know basically nothing about. What I do know is that I’m beginning to feel like I’m the *only* person who knows nothing about them.

Despite being almost broke and trying to save money, I almost bought the expensive book (Australian book prices are often completely nutty) just because I felt the need to be ‘up’ on what everyone else was reading.

Have you ever felt pressured to read something because ‘everyone else’ was reading it? Have you ever given in and read the book(s) in question or do you resist? If you are a reviewer, etc, do you feel it’s your duty to keep up on current trends?

I have been experiencing the same sort of “oh no, I’m the only person in the world who has no clue about the Twilight series” angst myself. Particuarly after looking through the Pieces of Flair application on Facebook. I read up on the Twilight series on Wikipedia and fortunately, that was enough to satisfy my curiosity. But there have been times in the past where I’ve read books that normally I wouldn’t have bothered picking up because it was all the rage to do so. Some examples off he top of my head:

The Celestine Prophecy by James Redfield. New Age muckety muck that people took WAY too seriously.

The DaVinci Code by Dan Brown. Another book that people took way too seriously. It was good for what it was — a work of fiction — but it hardly deserved to be such a phenomenon.

The Harry Potter series by J K Rowling. Fantastic. I enjoyed every one of the books. Well, maybe not Order of the Phoenix as much as the others, but I am glad that I read the series.

The Purpose Driven Life by Rick Warren. I never finished it. I decided that fads and faith don’t go together very well, and that if I want to determine “What on earth I am here for,” the book I should be reading is the Bible.

Likewise, The Prayer of Jabez by Bruce Wilkinson.

Who Moved My Cheese? by Spencer Johnson and Kenneth Blanchard. I thought it was good when I read it but can’t remember much about it.

Men are from Mars, Women are from Venus by John Gray. Loved it and highly recommend it.

5 comments

  1. Congratulations on your first BTT! I bet you’ll find it at least slightly addictive. =)


  2. Cheers for straying outside the norm! I have a similar opinion. Just think of all those books you never could have enjoyed if you took that risk!

    Congrats on your first participation! It was mine too!


  3. Welcome to BTT!

    I’ve read and enjoyed “The Purpose Driven Life” by Rick Warren, but it was in connection with a church program.


  4. Great answer! I don’t understand why half of the books out there get so much hype, when so many great books get ignored.
    Welcome to BTT 🙂


  5. I admit! I got caught up in the hype! Fortunately the series so far ( almost done with the second book) has been pretty satisfying…. Maybe I am just a sucker (no pun intended– hee hee.)



Leave a Reply

