h1

Fascinating Fruit

August 11, 2008

We went to someone’s house for a cookout on Saturday, and that someone has quite the green thumb!  He had a wide assortment of plants — everything from banana trees to cacti to wildflowers and more.  I was absolutely fascinated by this one:

Yes, he is growing his own pineapple!  I was astounded when I learned that he started with the cut off top of a pineapple and is now growing his own fruit!  So I did a little Google research and found out that it’s a long process, but fairly easy to do.  (See here for full instructions.)

Naturally, I’m going to have to give this a try.  I don’t know how I feel about waiting nearly two years to enjoy the fruits of my labor (pun intended), but won’t it be an interesting experiment?!?!

Leave a Reply

