h1

Lighter Fluid

July 25, 2008

Lately I’ve stumbled across several blogs whose style I think is best described as lighter fluid. Here’s how they work:

First, you post something — a question, a video (possibly taken out of context), a quote (possibly taken out of context) — and wait for readers’ comments without ever giving your opinion. After a big commotion has been stirred up and people are responding to each other, possibly with hostility, then you weigh in and keep the fire going.

The worst part is that every lighter fluid blog I’ve ever run across has been written by a Christian.

Now, I could pour my own lighter fluid and leave it at that, or maybe ask “what do you think?” But I won’t. I’ll tell you what I think instead. I think that there are people who find entertainment in witnessing conflict among others. And sadly, those types of people are not always found outside the church. I believe (and I’m human enough to say that I could be wrong) that pouring lighter fluid and waiting for the flames is contrary to Romans 12:15-17 (not to mention countless other Scriptures):

Rejoice with those who rejoice, weep with those who weep. Live in harmony with one another. Do not be haughty, but associate with the lowly. Never be wise in your own sight. Repay no one evil for evil, but give thought to do what is honorable in the sight of all.

2 comments

  1. I think a lot of people who call themselves Christian, really aren’t. I think some people get caught up in what they’ve chosen to believe, yet remain unbelievably insecure about that choice. That insecurity leads them to do unChristian-like things like judge others. Sometimes I have to remember to ignore the messenger and only pay attention to the message.


  2. goodfaith makes a good point. An aunt of mine says, “Chew the meat, spit out the bones.”

    gloriana, good post. I think Paul would have us defend the gospel and reject the lighter fluid approach if the goal is to glean entertainment from others fighting.

    Let’s keep the lighter fluid confined to burn barrels and charcoal briquets.



Leave a Reply

