h1

Deep Thoughts

June 20, 2008

It isn’t often that I fill my head with Deep Thoughts. I discovered long ago that pondering weighty matters rarely enables me to reach a solid conclusion and often leaves me with a headache.

But this week, in a Bible study I’m doing, I ran across a Deep Thought that requires more examination and introspection. So I thought I’d share it with y’all.

Ready? Here it is. (Brace yourselves….)

There are two paths we can take in our spiritual walk – Pleasing God or Trusting God. Here’s where they lead us:

Pleasing God –> Striving to be all God wants me to be –> Good Intentions –> Working on my sin to achieve an intimate relationship with God

Trusting God –> Living out of who God says I am –> Grace –> Standing with God, with my sin in front of us and working on it together.

Pleasing God is a good thing, but it should not be our primary motivation. The belief that more right behavior and less wrong behavior leads to godliness sets us up to fail and disregards the righteousness that God has already placed within us. What’s more, we can never resolve our sin by working on it. On this path, we strive to change into something we are not. It puts us in a works-based, performance driven relationship with God and puts the responsibility on our resources.

On the path of Trusting God, however, it’s much different. There are no desperate attempts to change yourself because you know you cannot. You can only mature because of who you already are. The goal is not to get all of your “stuff” solved – it’s an endless list for all of us. The goal is to trust in and depend on what God says is true about you so that together, you and He can begin dealing with that stuff.

Phew! See what I mean? DEEP.

And the best thing I read in this chapter: God is not interested in changing you. He already has.

Amen!!

2 comments

  1. […] About the Mama ← Deep Thoughts […]


  2. […] 31, 2008 · No Comments So.  I’ve been doing this “unofficial” Bible study.  I say unofficial because it’s not one that is being offered through my church.  After […]



Leave a Reply

