h1

Works for Me Wednesday: Dinner Bell

June 11, 2008

My kids would probably dispute this statement, but I hate yelling for people.  I really, really do.  One of my most popular mommy mantras is “If you want to talk to me, please come here” because I cannot stand yelling to people from another room in the house.

When people (meaning my husband and children) are outside the house and I am inside the house, the volume required (and therefore my irritation level) increase.  Add to that my husband’s uncanny ability to disappear five minutes before dinner is served and his tendency to not tell me where he is, and we’re talking major annoyance.

Not long after we moved into our house, I realized that this was going to present a problem for me.  Our lot is narrow but quite deep, and quite often he would wander into the far reaches of the back yard when I had no clue where he was.  Many times I found myself standing on the steps yelling, “DAN!” and worrying that the neighbors would think I was some sort of nagging shrew.

So for Christmas that year, I requested this lovely bell as a gift.  And I got it, personalized with our last name.  It hangs just outside the back door and now, when dinner is ready (or if Dan gets a phone call), I just go to the back door and ring the bell.  Within a few minutes, Dan is back in the house, I haven’t strained my vocal chords, and all is peaceful within the household. 

I don’t intend to move, but if I ever do, I’m taking my bell with me!

2 comments

  1. Why, what a lovely, old-fashioned, civilized way of calling people to the house!

    My parents had one of those gigantic old ones from a school that they put up on a post on the farm where I grew up. I could hear it clanging down at the neighbor’s house where I was playing. It’s nice. It’s a nod to a bygone era.


  2. Firstly, I have to say that I don’t like yelling either and secondly, my husband and children would disagree with me as well…lol

    Having a bell is a great idea! We have 5 children and calling them all for dinner can take a while so having a “dinner bell” would solve that!

    Your bell is really pretty 🙂 I like that it was personalised with your family name. Nice touch 🙂



Leave a Reply

