h1

Kentucky Vacation, Day 2: A Cave, a Boat and Some Butterflies

May 27, 2008

Kentucky, or at least the part of it that we visited, is really big on caves. There are loads of caves, ranging from the Mammoth Cave (a national park) to many smaller caves. With so many to choose from, it’s hard to decide which one you want to visit for your Kentucky cave experience.

Luckily, we all agreed that the Lost River Cave might be the most interesting. Why? Well, because it has a river. A river that you can actually ride a boat on. Into the cave. Sounds exciting, huh?

Once I got past the discomfort of having to enter the cave leaning over like I was getting an epidural, I enjoyed the little boat ride through the dark water and cavern. Our tour guide was great and he told us all about the history of the site, which was formidable. It was the site of Civil War camps for both Union and Confederate soldiers (although not, I’m guessing, at the same time), rumored to be a hideout for the notorious bank robber Jesse James, and even housed an underground night club for about 30 years.  We even got to see some cave wildlife, such as a frog and a couple of blind crawfish.  Thankfully, we didn’t see any bats or I might have had to jump ship and swim out of the cave.  *shudder*

The inside of the cave was too moist and dark for me to take any decent pictures, but here’s a shot of the boat that we rode in.

Also at Lost River, there was a Butterfly Habitat. I had never been to such a place before and really wasn’t expecting much but it turned out to be a lovely experience. The flowers inside were beautiful and so were the butterflies. It was very peaceful. Click here to see one photo I took of a monarch butterfly. Here’s another photo of Sophia loking at a butterfly that landed on her hand:

(I know, it looks like she’s pinching its legs — I freaked out a little when I first saw it.  Thankfully, she was just holding her finger and thumb together.  The butterfly is actually sitting on the side of her thumb.)

After Lost River, we got some lunch and went thrift shopping. I know, that seems a bit odd, but Noodle and I love bargain hunting and nothing is quite as fun as bargain hunting in a new town. She scored a hot pink Von Dutch purse (or maybe it was a bowling bag; we aren’t really sure) and I got a few things for eBay. Not too much, though, since I’m not listing much these days.

That evening Dan and Skeeter went to see “Iron Man” while Noodle and I took the kids to the hotel pool.

Which reminds me… the hotel we stayed at was the Drury Inn and I highly recommend the chain! They have free long distance, free hot breakfast, free wireless internet access, and free evening snacks and cocktails. Their motto is something like “extras shouldn’t be extra.” It was so nice to have a *free* hearty breakfast waiting for us in the lobby cafe every morning!  I think our next vacation might have to be a town with a Drury hotel.  🙂

One comment

  1. That was an awesome Goodwill. And I know exactly what you mean — new place, new finds! I do love that purse, er, bowling bag. Whatever. I used it today. 🙂



Leave a Reply

