h1

I Want Candy!

April 7, 2008

The Give Me Five Monday Meme question for this week is to name five of your all time favorite candies. When I was growing up, the local convenience store (the name of which, oddly enough, was the S&M Quick Shop) was just a short walk from my neighborhood. My friends and I would often go over there and purchase a frozen Coke (aka cola slurpee) and a few pieces of penny candy. I have many favorites, and I am still a candy junkie today, but here are the top five that I enjoyed back then.

  1. Razzles. First it’s a candy, then it’s a gum. How cool is that? You have no idea how happy I was to see Razzles back on the market a few years ago.
  2. Laffy Taffy. I still love these, and I still read the corny jokes on the wrappers. I cannot go into a convenience store / gas station without looking for Laffy Taffies.
  3. Zotz! It’s where the fizz is. It looks like an innocent piece of hard candy, but once it starts to dissolve in your mouth, you realize it’s filled with some sort of effervescent substance that tickles your tongue.
  4. Astro Pops. They were so cool, so pointy, so colorful.
  5. Charms Sweet & Sour Lollipops. Makes my mouth water just thinking about them.

Must. Stop. At. Five.

Must! Stop! At! Five!

Argh, I can’t! Here are some of my other favorites: Chiclets gum, Hershey bars (sans almonds), Zero bar, bubble gum cigars, Sixlets, jelly nougats, caramel creams, Now & Laters, Fruit Stripe gum, and so many more.

5 comments

  1. I haven’t had a one of these. Shame on me. I’m going to have to give them a taste. Have a great GM5. šŸ™‚


  2. You are a candy expert for sure. šŸ™‚


  3. Charms Sweet & Sour lollipops… mmmmmmm, I want one!

    I prefer my Hersheys bar sans almonds too šŸ™‚


  4. Razzles!! YUMMA!! I buy those at the dollar store, um, regularly.

    Hate Laffy Taffy. And Starburst. And Now & Later. I see a theme.

    I have never had Zotz or Astro Pops or Charms Sweet & Sours!


  5. Razzles had to come back from the great publicity they received with the movie “13 Going on 30”! Do you know what I really miss? PAL gum. Very similar to Dubble Bubble (which is delicious btw), but a bit sweeter and longer lasting.



Leave a Reply

