h1

Excitement

March 24, 2008

Up until about the age of 35, I spent a lot of time wishing my life was more exciting. Since then, I’ve realized that in many ways, boring is better. Take this afternoon, for instance.

Dan came home at lunch time to stay with the kids while I went to Wal Mart for our weekly groceries. (I try to avoid taking the kids with me to Wal Mart when I’m grocery shopping — when they are with me I end up spending twice as much and forgetting half of what I need.)

I did my usual circuit: Straight to the back of the store, check the clearance stuff, pick up any non-food items on the list before heading to the food items. I was halfway through this step when a woman behind me started yelling at the woman in front of me, “Barbara, what are you doing? Didn’t you hear what they said?” To which the other woman replied, “I know, I’m getting ready to leave.”

This kind of pulled me out of my happy Wal Mart-without-the-kids fog and I noticed that people seemed to be moving en masse to the front of the store. Whatever the announcement was, I had missed it.

“Um, what’s going on?” I asked the woman in front of me.

“They said everyone has to leave the store right now. Just leave your cart wherever it is and get out.”

I looked at the two things in my cart and the 32 things on my list. Sheesh. I parked the cart and headed out, only to see a minimum of four police vehicles (city and county), some with lights flashing, and a half dozen or more very official looking law enforcement types.

bomb1.jpg

bomb2.jpg

I figured it probably wasn’t just a shoplifter when I noticed this guy getting out of the vehicle:

bomb3.jpg

But it wasn’t until I went to my car and saw the side of that vehicle that I realized just how serious the evacuation was.

bomb4.jpg

Yes. Someone left a bomb threat at my local Wal Mart. By way of a note in the rest room. The store was closed for three hours while it was searched. Fortunately, no bomb was found.

I had to get my critical groceries at the supermarket — ugh! — so I had to pay more for everything. And I’ll have to go back to Wal Mart tomorrow to pick up the rest of my groceries. So needless to say, I’ve been a bit grumpy about the whole thing. Besides, what kind of a person threatens to bomb a Wal Mart?!?!?!

3 comments

  1. Don’t ever ask for more excitement you just might get it. Yikes.
    I do know some people who hate Walmart quite a bit but not enough to want to bomb it though.

    Glad you are safe.


  2. […] About the Mama ← Excitement […]


  3. Oh my! People are crazy.



Leave a Reply

