h1

Works for Me Wednesday: Shower Curtain Liners

March 19, 2008
wfmwsmall.jpg

This is one of those things that I’m reluctant to post about because I feel like everyone probably already knows it and I was the last person to make the discovery. But just in case there is someone out there who hasn’t heard of this… here we go:

I had a problem with my shower curtain liner getting mildewed. Sometimes I would spray it down with Tilex. Sometimes I would just replace it altogether (since I could get new ones at Wal Mart for around $2.50). The new ones had a very strong vinyl/plastic smell but within a day or so the smell was gone.

Well, recently I went to Wal Mart and intended to get a new shower curtain liner to replace the old one. I couldn’t find my usual $2.50 one, only one that said it was an “EVA Liner” that cost more like $8.00. I didn’t know what EVA was (turns out it’s acetate), but I saw on the packaging that it was supposed to be mildew resistant, so I got it.

It is great! We’ve used it for over a month and there is not one speck of mildew on it, plus there was no smell when we took it out of the packaging. So if you have a problem with shower curtain mildew, try an EVA/acetate liner. You’ll be glad you did!

4 comments

  1. cool! I HATE mildrew on the shower curtain. Yuck yuck yuck!


  2. Sometimes I just get liners at the Dollar Store. For $1, it’s a lot easier to replace one than clean one. I had a drawer full until I used them up.

    The last liner I got was an EVA one. (I was tired of skimpy $1 ones that were barely long enough.) It seems to be going well. I rinse it after each shower with my removable shower head (THAT is a worthwhile purchase), and I spray with Clean Shower. So far, so good.


  3. I just take mine down and run it thru my front loader washer when I wash the rags. Wash it with laundry detergent and bleach or vinegar. 🙂


  4. Ditto on the value and ease to clean these guys, but guess what else they’re great for….furniture protectors from evil, vendictive poopy cat whose Name is withheld to protect the majorly guilty!
    I never thought I would have plastic wrapped furniture but this is great. S/He doesn’t mind sitting on it but never messes the bed anymore. Plus, it’s so easy to just pull off (and clean) to use the bed for more normal use. 🙂
    Oh….good for back of trunks or car seats for pets or gardening supply transports. THe list goes on.



Leave a Reply

