h1

How I Spent My Afternoon

March 15, 2008

I promised Sophia’s teacher that I would provide the class with a green snack for St. Patrick’s Day on Monday. Now, if I were smart, I’d make some sugar cookies with green sprinkles. But for some strange reason, I decided to Google “St. Patrick’s Day snacks” to see if I could come up with anything more creative.

I wish I hadn’t, because before I knew it, I was telling the teacher that I’d found the neatest recipe for cupcakes that have a rainbow and gold coins on top of them. And then I was committed. To making the cupcakes, I mean… not to a mental institution. Although after reading this, you might think that the latter would have been more appropriate.

So, first I had to make the cupcakes. This required a Saturday afternoon trip to Wal Mart which is on my short list of things I would rather have root canal than do. It was crowded. It was busy. Yuck.

But once I was safely home, I set about baking the cupcakes. The house smelled all lovely and chocolately when I was finished.

step-1.jpg

That was the easy part. Next came the rainbows. There were a number of different ways to do this, but I chose one of my favorite candies, fruit flavored Tootsie Rolls.

step-2.jpg

So, I unwrapped them….

step-3.jpg

and began the long, arduous process of pinching, rolling, and kneading them until they were six times longer and thinner than they started out.

step4.jpg

I apologize for the photo being blurry. At this point (the eighth or ninth set of Tootsie Rolls), my hands were cramping up and not very steady.

Once I had them long and skinny, I had to sort of squish them together and flatten them so they looked like a rainbow-striped ribbon.

step-5.jpg

Then it was time to mix up some vanilla icing and green food color. I don’t have pictures of that. Mainly because at this point I was feeling pretty numb between the ears.

Then it was just a question of assembling the treats. Green icing on top, manipulate the Tootsie Roll strip into an arch shape, set it on top of the cupcake, and add gold foil-wrapped chocolate coins.

Then, [drum roll, please!] Here is the end product…

done.jpg

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to take some Advil. My hands are quite sore from all the Tootsie Roll manipulation!

PS for my mom: And guess what? I mopped my floors today, too. 🙂

5 comments

  1. You GO, Martha! (Stewart, that is…not Mary/Martha..LOL!)
    Was that a Family Fun recipe? I recall one similar a few years ago.
    All the kids in Sophia’s class will talk about how you sent in the “neat” treats. 🙂


  2. I hope you saved at least ONE for yourself LOL You earned it! They look yummy. 🙂


  3. Snacks made with love and sweat, blood, or tears always mean more in the long run. Trust me there.

    They look very yummy.


  4. […] Comments on last week’s menu: The crock pot chicken rolls from my new cookbook were tasty, although I didn’t do a good job of sealing them and most of the cheese melted out. Not to worry — we just poured the sauce and cheese over top of the chicken rolls. On Sunday we ended up having pizza instead of the chicken that I’d planned, mainly due to having spent all afternoon on the St. Patrick’s Day cupcakes. […]


  5. Those look GREAT!! I don’t know if I would have had the nerve to attempt it. LOL!



Leave a Reply

