h1

Movie Quote Answers

March 11, 2008

1. “So it’s not gonna be easy. It’s going to be really hard; we’re gonna have to work at this everyday, but I want to do that because I want you. I want all of you, forever, everyday. You and me… everyday.”

This one is from The Notebook, the only movie I have ever seen that actually had me SOBBING in my seat.  It was that good.  Absolutely the best love story ever.

2. “I’ve seen knights in armor panic at the first hint of battle. And I’ve seen the lowliest, unarmed squire pull a spear from his own body, to defend a dying horse. Nobility is not a birthright. It’s defined by one’s actions.”

Robin Hood:  Prince of Thieves.  I don’t care if Kevin Costner didn’t use an English accent (well, maybe I care a little).  This is one of my all time favorites, introduced me to the snarky brilliance of Alan Rickman, and never fails to give me goosebumps when Robin and the other outlaws are preparing to rob from the rich.

3. “Have fun storming the castle!”

The Princess Bride.  It’s a movie I quote often and could watch at least once a week, every week without getting tired of it.

4. “Oh, merciful God, I have such need of Your mercy now. Not for myself, but for my knights, for this is truly their hour of need. Deliver them from their trials ahead and I will pay You a thousandfold with any sacrifice You ask of me. And if in Your wisdom, You should determine that sacrifice must be my life for theirs, so that they can once again taste the freedom that has so long been denied to them, I will gladly make that covenant. My death will have a purpose. I ask no more than that.”

My hubby knew a lot of them and he was right about this one — it’s from King Arthur.  Clive Owen. What else do I have to say?  He’s brilliant in scenes when he’s angry (a la Derailed and Closer), but in in scenes where he’s praying?  Wow.

5. “I know all about you…. You like boats, but not the ocean. You go to a lake in the summer with your family up in the mountains. There’s a long wooden dock and a boathouse with boards missing from the roof, and a place you used to crawl underneath to be alone. You’re a sucker for French poetry and rhinestones. You’re very generous. You’re kind to strangers and children, and when you stand in the snow you look like an angel.”

Groundhog Day.  Another movie I could watch over and over… at least every year.

6. “Me? I’m dishonest, and a dishonest man you can always trust to be dishonest. Honestly. It’s the honest ones you want to watch out for, because you can never predict when they’re going to do something incredibly… stupid.”

Pirates of the Caribbean:  Curse of the Black Pearl.  I didn’t like the second and third Pirates movies, but the first was just wonderful.  Funny, Suspenseful.  Plus, you know, it had pirates.  🙂

7. “Excuse me? You’re biting my butt!”

Madagascar. Thanks, Lisa!  There are so many great lines in this movie, and we quote them regularly.  (Yes, even this one.)

8. “I’m shakin’ the dust of this crummy little town off my feet and I’m gonna see the world. Italy, Greece, the Parthenon, the Colosseum. Then, I’m comin’ back here to go to college and see what they know. And then I’m gonna build things. I’m gonna build airfields, I’m gonna build skyscrapers a hundred stories high, I’m gonna build bridges a mile long… ”

Skeeter guessed it! It’s a Wonderful Life.  I recently met someone who has never seen this movie.  Can you imagine?  I felt so sorry for her.

9. “…you have the right to remain silent. What you lack is the capacity.”

Shrek 2. Thanks for playing, Andy!  This is my favorite of the Shrek trilogy.  There were just so many funny lines and subtle references to other movies that I always laugh when I watch it, even when I know what’s going to happen.

10. “How do you cook your grits? Do you like them regular, creamy or al dente?”

My Cousin Vinny. Noodle guessed it!  I have only ever seen this movie on TV, so I didn’t know it had such foul language until I was looking at the quotes!  :blush:  Regardless, it’s terribly funny and smart at the same time, and you just can’t beat that combination.

2 comments

  1. As far as #8 goes…I just recently found out that MR. BROWNSTONE has never seen it! I was appalled! I know I’ve watched it more than once since we’ve been married – like every year. I figured surely that he had seen it at least once!


  2. I love this! Princess Bride and Groundhog Day are 2 of my favorite movies EVER!



Leave a Reply

