h1

The Great Movie Meme

March 10, 2008

Noodle really stumped me with this meme, so I’m going to try it here. Don’t forget to leave a comment with your guess!

Here are the meme rules:

  • Pick 10 of your favorite movies.
  • Go to IMDB and find a quote from each movie.
  • Post them here for everyone to guess.
  • Strike it out when someone guesses correctly, and put who guessed it and the movie.
  • GUESSERS: NO GOOGLING/using IMDB search functions.
  • One movie guess per person. Give people a chance to guess before you steal all of the awesome!
  • Put your guesses in the comments.

Okay, here are my quotes….

1. “So it’s not gonna be easy. It’s going to be really hard; we’re gonna have to work at this everyday, but I want to do that because I want you. I want all of you, forever, everyday. You and me… everyday.”

2. “I’ve seen knights in armor panic at the first hint of battle. And I’ve seen the lowliest, unarmed squire pull a spear from his own body, to defend a dying horse. Nobility is not a birthright. It’s defined by one’s actions.”

3. “Have fun storming the castle!”

4. “Oh, merciful God, I have such need of Your mercy now. Not for myself, but for my knights, for this is truly their hour of need. Deliver them from their trials ahead and I will pay You a thousandfold with any sacrifice You ask of me. And if in Your wisdom, You should determine that sacrifice must be my life for theirs, so that they can once again taste the freedom that has so long been denied to them, I will gladly make that covenant. My death will have a purpose. I ask no more than that.”  My hubby knew a lot of them and he was right about this one — it’s from King Arthur.

5. “I know all about you…. You like boats, but not the ocean. You go to a lake in the summer with your family up in the mountains. There’s a long wooden dock and a boathouse with boards missing from the roof, and a place you used to crawl underneath to be alone. You’re a sucker for French poetry and rhinestones. You’re very generous. You’re kind to strangers and children, and when you stand in the snow you look like an angel.”

6. “Me? I’m dishonest, and a dishonest man you can always trust to be dishonest. Honestly. It’s the honest ones you want to watch out for, because you can never predict when they’re going to do something incredibly… stupid.”

7. “Excuse me? You’re biting my butt!Madagascar. Thanks, Lisa!

8. “I’m shakin’ the dust of this crummy little town off my feet and I’m gonna see the world. Italy, Greece, the Parthenon, the Colosseum. Then, I’m comin’ back here to go to college and see what they know. And then I’m gonna build things. I’m gonna build airfields, I’m gonna build skyscrapers a hundred stories high, I’m gonna build bridges a mile long… ” Skeeter guessed it! It’s a Wonderful Life.

9. “…you have the right to remain silent. What you lack is the capacity.Shrek 2. Thanks for playing, Andy!

10. “How do you cook your grits? Do you like them regular, creamy or al dente?My Cousin Vinny. Noodle guessed it!

7 comments

  1. Oooh, you have a lot of good ones! You know it’s killing me not to list all of the ones I know, but I’m going to follow the rules and go for #10, My Cousin Vinny. 😀


  2. Oh I love #9 — one of my favorite movies, too! SHREK! 🙂 Love kids movies. Heh.


  3. haha . nice thing you got here….

    I expected something like … “save the cheerleader, save the world” . .

    http://3critical.wordpress.com


  4. Hmmm…I have some guesses for some of the “knight” quotes, but they would be GUESSES!
    For sure, I know #7 is from Madagascar. 🙂


  5. 8 – Its a Wonderful Life


  6. I know 2,3,4 and 6 – I like the quote from 4 the best, its King Arthur with Clive Owen


  7. So sad I missed this!!! Don’t do any blog reading for a couple of days and look what happens…you miss out on something fun! I would have been terrible at this without IMDB, but Mr. Brownstone would have rocked it! Great game!!!



Leave a Reply

