h1

What I’ve Been Doing

February 25, 2008

I didn’t post much last week, and there was a good reason.  Sophia came home from school Tuesday with a really high fever.  Wednesday I took her to the doctor, who said it was a viral thing, and told us to wait it out.  We waited and waited, and by Saturday night she was coughing so hard she would vomit.  I took her to the immediate care facility on Sunday and the viral thing had caused her to develop an ear infection.

Which is a long and rambling way of saying that I’ve been housebound most of the week, wiping noses and watching countless episodes of “The Brady Bunch” and “Full House.”  Being housebound is not my thing.  I am usually away from home at least once during the day, every day.  It is essential to my mental well being.  I don’t know why, but I suspect that it goes back to the days when Trevor was a newborn .  Getting out of the house every day was my coping mechanism.  It still is.

So as much as I would love to say that I spent the past week reorganizing my cupboards and cleaning my house from top to bottom, or scrapbooking and trying new recipes, but the truth is I didn’t do much of anything.

I did, however, finish reading By Bread Alone by Sarah Kate Lynch.  It was great, only slightly less marvelous than Blessed Are the Cheesemakers.  Warning:  You’ll either want to eat bread or bake bread while reading it.

I ordered my next read — Respectable Sins:  Confronting the Sins We Tolerate by Jerry Bridges.  Just glancing through the contents made me wince.  I have a feeling my toes are about to get stepped on as I read this book.  Oddly enough, that’s exactly why I want to read it.

I started a new blog for folks like me, who love to shop but can’t stand spending money.  It’s called The Frugal Shopaholic, and I’m adding the link to my sidebar.  Please feel free to stop by and see what bargains I’ve found!  Right now it doesn’t have a whole lot of info but I hope to add to it daily.

I went to my church’s weekly prayer meeting, which I do every week.  There is nothing like praying for others to take your mind off your own problems (and give you some much-needed perspective when you’re having a pity party).

And really, that’s about it.  Hopefully I will be more out & about this week!

Leave a Reply

