h1

Elizabeth: The Golden Age

February 12, 2008

elizabeth-golden-age1.jpg

Last night I watched Elizabeth: The Golden Age. It was a follow up movie to the 1999 film Elizabeth, which I like to refer to as a historical travesty.

I’m happy to say that The Golden Age has redeemed the filmmaker in my eyes. First, because he was more historically accurate this time around — thank goodness! The timeline was a little jumbled, but overall there was no blatant fiction like there was in the first movie. The Golden Age was rated PG-13, so it was not as bloody and violent as the first Elizabeth movie, which was R rated. And of course, I enjoyed this one because Clive Owen played Sir Walter Raleigh.

My only complaint is that he omitted one of Elizabeth I’s most famous quotes. Before battling the Spanish Armada, Elizabeth (then 52 years old) dressed in full armor and rode among her troops at Tilbury to give a rousing speech. In it, she declared,

“I know I have the body of a weak and feeble woman; but I have the heart and stomach of a king – and of a king of England too….”

That really should have been included, as it is one of the most famous things she has ever said. However, this omission was the only thing I found disappointing in the movie.

Dare I say it? I’m hoping there will be a third movie!

Leave a Reply

