h1

I Hope It Sticks

February 1, 2008

The struggles that we’ve had with Trevor over the past few years are something I have alluded to often, but not something that I’ve written much about. To say that he’s had problems with academic performance at school and behavior at home would be an over-simplification; nonetheless, that’s all I will say about it here. Those who are close to me know that the problems have had me at the end of my rope on many occasions, and with good reason.

Throughout this time, many people have prayed for Trevor and for this situation to turn around. I’ve prayed more than once for “something to click” within him so that he becomes more interested in (a) doing well in school and (b) respecting the boundaries we have given him.

Dare I say it? I do believe that it has clicked.

On Wednesday, he got his 2nd term report card, and it looks dramatically different than his first term report card. His first term academic grades were:

Science – E
Reading – E
History – C
Algebra – D
Spanish – C

I’m thrilled to report that he has brought every single one of those grades up.  Behold, his second term grades:

Science – B
Reading – C
History – B
Algebra – C
Spanish – B

This still isn’t a completely accurate reflection of his capabilities, but it is a marked improvement.

What’s more, he actually exhibited some regret that he didn’t do better in one of his classes this term. Not disappointed in a fear-of-potential-consequences kind of way, but in a I-really-wanted-to-do-well kind of way. This is the first time in eight years that he has ever shown any interest in what grades he receives.

Behavior at home has improved as well, and we find ourselves now enjoying each other’s company much more than before. We are laughing together. It sounds like a little thing, but it is huge. I didn’t realize how much I had missed it until it came back.

4 comments

  1. Great job, Trev! 🙂 That rules. 🙂

    What is “E?” Are we too PC to use Fs anymore? LOL


  2. E is a failing grade (anything below 60%). Using E instead of F might be a local thing; it isn’t a recent change. Back when I was in school (in the next county over), they used E.


  3. I’m so happy to hear this Julie! Trevor is a good kid, I know he’ll do well. 🙂


  4. I am so happy for him (and you)!!

    I’ve never heard of an “E” grade either.



Leave a Reply

