h1

Thursday 13: What I Did on My Mini-Vacation

January 3, 2008

 

So, as I mentioned, I just got back from a mini vacation in the Pocono Mountains of Pennsylvania, thanks to the generous hospitality of my friend Suzanne. It was so nice to get away for a while, and to leave it all behind (meaning TV and computer). No news to depress me, no online Boggle to waste time with, no eBay work, no blog reading/writing to distract me… just hanging out with my family and friends in the relative seclusion of a mountain hideaway.

So, what does one do when faced with a complete absence of TV/computers? Well, here’s what I did:

  1. Got caught up on my scrapbooking, as I’ve already mentioned.
  2. Took pictures of the snow.
  3. Gave my husband an anniversary card and gift.
  4. Visited the biggest candy store I have ever seen. An entire house filled with chocolate! I was so awestruck I forgot to take pictures! (Shame on me! But you can get an idea of how big it is if you look at these photos.)
  5. Visited a pretzel factory (owned by the same people as the candy store). Did take pictures there.
  6. Went outlet shopping. Best deal was a corduroy skirt for Sophia (pink, of course) at The Children’s Place. I paid 99 cents for it. Also picked up some clearanced Halloween costumes to list on eBay, three calendars at 75% off (1 for each of the kids and 1 for Dan), and some kitchen tools I needed to replace ones that I’d destroyed.
  7. Had a facial. A chocolate facial at that. Wow, it smelled so good!
  8. Made a gingerbread house with Sophia.
  9. Slept until 10 AM New Year’s Day. Yippee!
  10. Marveled at how big wild turkeys are (there were three that roamed through the neighborhood looking for something to eat).
  11. Saw four deer crossing the street ahead of me in time to stop and wait for them to pass. (Thank goodness!) Sophia exclaimed “Bambi!” as they passed by her car window.
  12. Forgot that Dan and I had just spent $4000 on a new boiler.
  13. Tiptoed through the snow because the only shoes I had with me were crocs, which have holes everywhere but on the bottom. Obviously, I am not used to living with snow on more than a once-in-a-blue-moon basis!
5 comments

  1. Sounds like it was excellent! I had to laugh at idea of you on tip-toe through the snow. 🙂


  2. Great list!! Sounds like you had a great vacation!


  3. sounds like a fun mini vacation. i would kill for one of those…sans kids!
    loved the list!


  4. I LOL about the tiptoe part too! Nice contrast to the stomping you know the kids were doing!


  5. Wow, a vacation in the Poconos! Sounds like heaven to me, though I wonder if I’d be able to function anymore if I were unplugged that long from my laptop. As a Huckabee supporter, you must be very pleased with the Iowa results! Who knows, he may even take the nomination…



Leave a Reply

