h1

The King & Queen of Bad Timing

December 11, 2007

I spent the latter part of last week alternately ecstatic that I would be going away to an all-weekend crop with one of my friends, and despairing over same. Ecstatic because I would be hanging out with a friend and concentrating on my very favorite hobby.  Despairing because my to-do list is ever growing this time of year and it seems as though there just aren’t enough hours in the day.

Because of that to-do list, I’ve been spending very large chunks of time being a stay-at-home-mom who is, oddly enough, never ever home.  Most days last week, I would leave the house around 9:00 and usually not return until about 4:00.  Thursday was one of those days, only it was even longer because of an evening appointment.

When I walked in our front door around 7:30 that evening, the first thing that struck me was not an overwhelming desire to plop down in the comfy chair and reflect on the relief  of calling an end to a long and trying day.  Oh no.  The first thing that struck me was the overwhelmingly nasty aroma of heating oil.  Yuck.

Trevor and I retreated to the basement to see what was going on.  The room with our boiler/furnace had about a half inch of water on the floor.  Not a good sign.  I called Dan (who had been doing computer assistance for a couple from church all day) and told him what had happened.  Well really, I told him what I had observed.  I had no idea what happened.  He left immediately to head home.

After checking it out and trying a few things, Dan let me know that the boiler wasn’t operable.  We would have to spend the night with no heat save for our fireplace.

On Friday we got the oil company out to take a look and they said that the cost to fix it would be 85% of the replacement cost.  In other words, it’s time to get a new boiler.   A sales rep from the company came out and gave us our estimate.  Six thousand dollars.

Less than three weeks before Christmas and we are looking at having to make a SIX. THOUSAND. DOLLAR. purchase for the house.  And it’s not optional because, you know, it’s December and it’s only going to get colder for the next few months.

Ugh.

2 comments

  1. I’m sorry! I know there isn’t a silver lining here, but at least you’re cropping this weekend, right?


  2. […] it could possibly be — to fix it would cost 85% of the total replacement cost.  We got the estimate of $6000, but fortunately Dan found a guy who could do it for […]



Leave a Reply

