h1

Christmas Meme

December 7, 2007

1. Does your family send out Christmas cards? Yes, and if I’m on top of my game, they include a family photo and a letter
2. How soon do you start shopping? December 26.
3. Who do you shop for? all of my family members, a few close friends, and other folks I like to treat at Christmas (teachers, mailman, etc).

Decorations
4. Do you put up a Christmas tree? Yes.
5. If so, is it fake or real? Fake….I’m allergic to real evergreens
6. Do you like tinsel? No.
7. Do you use homemade or store-bought ornaments? store bought.
8. Do you put Christmas lights outside your house? That is Dan’s job
9. Do you put lights on the tree? yes, clear.
10. How about popcorn and cranberries? nope
11. Is there a wreath hanging on your door? yes

Christmas Eve
12. Do you celebrate it? yes
13. Do you hang up your stocking? yes.
14. Does your family read “Twas the night before Christmas?” yes — the same edition I had when I was a girl!

Favorites
15. Christmas Movie – It’s a Wonderful Life, The Nativity Story
16. Character from any Christmas Movie – Ebenezer Scrooge as portrayed by Alastair Sim
17. Christmas Song – “God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen”
18. Christmas Memory – the first Christmas I spent with Dan

This or That
19. Give or Receive? give (but I do love receiving too!)
20. Eggnog or Cider? Eggnog
21. Red or Green? green
22. Ham or Turkey? ham for Christmas, Turkey for Thanksgiving
23. Star or Angel? I have a stained glass star at the top of our tree. I would like to have an angel, but haven’t been able to find one that I really love
24. White Lights or Colored Lights? White
25. Blinking Lights or Still Lights? still – blinkies make me think of Vegas
26. Were you Naughty or Nice this year? mostly nice

Presents
27. What do you want for Christmas this year? colorful socks, a clock for my car
28. When do you open your gifts? Christmas morning, never before
29. What’s the best gift you’ve ever gotten? my new kitchen counter
30. What’s the worst gift you’ve ever gotten? a steam cleaner
31. Who gives you the most gifts? I don’t know; never really counted
32. Have you ever had a secret Santa? yes, for a gift exchange
33. Do you like wrapping gifts? yes!

Random
34. Do you put change in those red buckets? yes, if I’m not in a hurry (or out of change)
35. Do you burn a yule log? I never have, but I would like to
36. Can you name all the reindeer? yes
>37. Do you bake cookies? yes – lots of them – every year!!!
38. Have you ever seen your mommy kissing Santa Claus? nope
39. Have you ever gotten a kiss under the mistletoe? yes
40. Do you go caroling? no, but I would like to
41. Do you drive around and look at the Christmas lights? Oh yes, that is a must!
42. Have you ever left Santa cookies? every year, on a special plate just for him
43. Have you ever sat on Santa’s lap? maybe as a kid, I don’t remember
44. Who do you celebrate Christmas with? with family
45. Where do you celebrate Christmas? at our home.
46. Have you ever had a white Christmas? I think maybe once or twice.
47. What part of Christmas do you look most foward to? Decorations and surprising people with a special gift.
48. Have you ever had your picture taken with Santa? Yes
49. Does your family always take a picture at Christmas? Yes
50. Have you ever heard the song “Thank God For Kids” by The Oakridge Boys? I don’t think so.

2 comments

  1. You don’t have a clock in your car?

    I still have my original copy of “Twas The Night Before Christmas” that my Nana bought for me!

    Have you read Dylan Thomas’ “A Child’s Christmas in Wales?” That’s one of our read-aloud books that we added a few years ago.

    This year we’re adding the Christmas portion of “Little House in the Big Woods” too.


  2. What a fun meme! I love getting to know more about people.



Leave a Reply

