h1

Abortion, Its Impact on My Life, and a Smattering of Politics Thrown in for Good Measure

October 19, 2007

First, let me say that, as a Christian, I believe that abortion is murder, it is the killing of an innocent child, and it is therefore capital w Wrong. I have never — would never — have an abortion. However, I cannot say that abortion has never touched my life.

In 1985, when I was halfway through my freshman year in college, I thought I might be pregnant. I was terrified at the thought. I firmly decided, selfish and atheistic fool that I was, that I would have an abortion if I took a pregnancy test and it came back positive. Fortunately, my “morning sickness” turned out to be a bad turkey sandwich, and my period showed up within a day or so to confirm that I was not pregnant. I am so thankful that I didn’t have to face that decision or live with its consequences.

In 1987 (or thereabouts), my dad received a phone call from the mother of a girl in my brother’s high school class. She was pregnant, and my brother was responsible.  The girl’s mom wanted my dad to foot the bill for the abortion of what would have been his first grandchild and my first niece or nephew. He did. I often think about that child, and wonder if my brother does the same.

In 1999, a coworker and friend of mine got pregnant. Her boyfriend basically wanted nothing to do with her after he found out (he’d always been a loser) and wanted her to have an abortion. Because her first pregnancy nearly killed her, and she was struggling to support her son by herself as it was, she decided to succumb to her boyfriend’s pressure to “get rid of it.” I drove her to the abortion clinic, something that I have regretted ever since I got saved. I saw first hand the impact that her decision had on her. She had a mental breakdown in the days and weeks that followed, hearing babies crying when there were none around, suffering from depression, and losing her appetite for days at a time.

On February 4, 2000, I accepted Jesus Christ as my Lord and Savior.

Later that year, a woman on the fringe of our social circle who was married with one child already got pregnant. She decided to have an abortion, she said, because she just didn’t want to have a child right then. To me, this was incomprehensible and beyond vile. I just didn’t understand, although it began to make more sense when her husband alleged that she had been having an affair. Perhaps the unborn child was not her husband’s, but that was not a justifiable reason for killing it.

So, that is a brief history of my experiences with abortion. Moving on to current events…

Many people think that if one is a Christian, then abortion is the only issue one cares about and that one must therefore vote Republican.

Well, I am a Christian and I do care about abortion, but I care about other things too. I most often don’t vote Republican. Why, you may ask?

  • Well, for one thing, I’m not registered as a Republican. As a result, I don’t get to vote in the Republican primaries. (No biggie.  Not much exciting ever happens in the primaries anyway.)
  • Just a few years ago, we went through a period where the Supreme Court was dominated by conservative judges, a Republican president occupied the White House, and both houses of Congress were Republican-controlled. With all of the proverbial pro-life ducks in a row to change the abortion laws in this country, what happened? Absolutely nothing. So why vow loyalty to an entire political party because of its stand on a single issue when they will not take any action on that issue?
  • One of the issues I do care deeply about is protecting the environment. Not in a tree hugging, nature worshiping kind of way, but in a practical, let’s not assume we have unlimited natural resources kind of way. Euphemistically speaking, the Republican stand on environmental issues is not the best.
  • I don’t have a lot of money. Most months, we’re figuring out how to make ends meet with just one income and some eBay money on the side. The Republican party tends to look after the folks with the deepest pockets. I don’t think that I will ever fall into that category.

I am not a Republican. But that doesn’t mean I’m a liberal, either.

4 comments

  1. Why is the guy always “responsible?” (1987). It takes two to tango, but everyone always says “he” got me pregnant. Argh.

    And what of the teenage rape/incest victim? Should their lives be forever changed because of some people’s so-called moral authority?

    I hate abortion too, and I too think it’s wrong with a capital W. But who am *I* to tell anyone what’s right or wrong? It’s not my place to govern someone’s uterus.

    Think adoption! But if we ban abortion, we’ll have 14 year old girls dumping their babies in garbage cans or using coat hangers in horrific ways. I don’t think God wants that either.


  2. Hmmm, interesting points.

    My husband and I just had this conversation last night about one issue voting (we don’t)

    I am a Christian, a registered Independent that tends to vote Republican, and I do believe that abortion is wrong. However, I’m with Andy as far as rape/incest victims go. With an abortion ban, does that mean no morning after pill for a rape victim, or does it ban only surgical abortions? Or only surgical abortions that are (this) far along? What about pregnancies where the life of the mother is at stake? It turns into a very slippery slope, and brings us to the eternal question of when life really begins.

    Abortion is an ugly choice to make, and I don’t think most women make the choice lightly. This I know. Of course there are some that tend to use it as a means of birth control, having 3 or 4 abortions. They will have to deal with that in due time.

    By the way, it may surprise you to know that there are moderate Republicans that are pro-choice. Abortion issue voters would never vote for them, Republican or not.


  3. I did not read this post until a more recent one referred to this, so I wanted to see what people were so upset about.

    I do not believe in abortion at all. It is murder – taking an innocent life and killing it. I used to agree with the two other commenters that it would be “ok” for someone to have one in the case of rape or incest, but I do not believe that anymore – and have not for many years.

    In the past year, I volunteered to work at a crisis pregnancy center, and when we learned about abortion and the morning after pill, it cemented even more to me why those two things are not a good choice for a girl to make. The morning after pill can kill someone and there are other horrible side affects. Abortion ravages a woman’s body, soul and spirit. After learning about what it does to the woman, I believe that having the baby and either parenting it or adopting a family for it is a much safer and better choice to make. I am thankful that I have never gotten myself into that position and I am thankful that I am able to make a difference in women’s lives at the pregnancy center.

    So sorry that you were attacked by what you posted. I believe that you are seeing the issue the way that the Lord sees it.


  4. One important thing to consider is whether a person is Pro-life or ust Anti-Abortion. To be pro-life one must be as concerned about the children dying in Iraq, Darfur, and too many other places. I feel in a real quandry. I am pro-life, but Democrats defend the killing of the unborn while Republicans defend the killing of the born. And, by the way it irritates me when Christians speak of the “innocent” unborn babies. Most Christians accept some version of original sin, so the unborn are no more innocent than the six-year old whose legs are blown off in mortar attack. Then I think about something my husband brings up (sarcastically). If there is an age of accountability and children under some age are innocent, then abortion is the best evangelistic tool around. I know that is a little sick, but it does point out that this is not as simple as some people like to make it.



Leave a Reply

