h1

Was that a compliment?

September 17, 2007

Recently, I’ve grown more aware of my little town’s booming growth and the eventuality that someday, my little town will be a proper city. The signs are all pointing to it — increased traffic congestion, real estate developments popping up right and left, shortage of doctors, etc. I’ve also noticed that there is an increasing amount of vagrants hanging out in free, open to the public places like the library and the parks.

I go to the library once a week to get videos for our Family Movie Night and books for Sophia to read. Today I got there not too long after they opened, and made my way to the book return to drop off what I’d finished with before looking for new material. An older woman was there, hovering around the main desk, talking to herself. I walked past her to the video/DVD section. She followed me.

“Excuse me, miss,” she said to me.

I braced myself, not sure what could be coming next. “Yes?”

“Your hair is very pretty!”

I smiled. “Oh, well, thank you!” What a pleasant surprise. I totally was not expecting a compliment. I turned my attention back to the racks of DVDs. I went back to my quest for a good movie, and she wandered off.

After a few minutes, however, she was back. “You know what you should do?” she asked me.

I shook my head.

“You should get yourself a new pair of boot cut jeans and a little hoodie. Then you would look FANtastic!”

I didn’t know whether to laugh or cry. Complimented and subsequently dissed by a stranger who may or may not have been in full control of her mental faculties. I think I may have choked out an, “Okay, thanks.”

She leaned in a little closer and whispered conspiratorially, “That’s what I’m gonna do!” She gave me a sort of “nudge, nudge, wink, wink” kind of look.

I smiled and thanked her again, then made my way to the far opposite side of the library.

That was the end of the encounter, but all day I’ve been wondering how I looked. I thought I was reasonably well put together today, but apparently not enough to keep from getting unsolicited fashion tips! LOL

One comment

  1. Oh, my word! I had that happen to me last year. I was at a comedy club with my girlfriends, and a bunch of college girls walked past us. I saw one of them look me up and down, and then make the comment, “That is SO last year.” I was mortified! Then I remembered that I’m a mom and as long as my husband, my kids, and myself feel good about me, it doesn’t matter what anyone else thinks!



Leave a Reply

