h1

Monday, Monday

January 23, 2007

Monday is fast becoming my favorite day of the week. Every Monday evening after dinner, I head out for the Ladies’ Bible Study group from my church. The next two (or three!) hours are spent laughing, crying, reading, praying, and of course talking. I’ve just finished my second study with this group of women and am eagerly looking forward to the next one! Let me tell you about these wonderful ladies…

WS is the hostess. She opens her home every week (sometimes even when she is detained with a late meeting at work) and is the most gracious hostess you will ever meet. In casual conversation one evening, WS mentioned that she had a fabulous Spanish teacher in high school and immediately, I knew she was talking about my Spanish teacher. I asked her where she grew up and, as it turns out, she and I are from the same town and we did in fact have the same Spanish teacher, just four years apart. So in a weird way, I feel like I have a special bond with her because of that. She is soft-spoken but direct. And she has this way of looking at me when she asks a discussion question that just makes me want to participate (something I’ve never felt quite comfortable doing before).

BM is the other leader. She is quick witted and has a dry sense of humor. She doesn’t take herself too seriously, but she is a pillar of our faith. Often she will make a flippant remark that just cracks everyone up, but just as often she is so eloquent about her beautiful relationship with Jesus that I’m brought to tears.

ED is a hoot. There’s just no other way to describe her. Imagine a young version of Tyler Perry’s Madea, and that’s her. I am always so happy to see her because I know I will spend a lot of time laughing that evening.

MB is quiet and reserved. She doesn’t participate a lot, but she’s easy to be with. She has a heart of gold and her genuine warmth shines through.

SB is going through a divorce right now, and often dealing with that stress. Yet her faith never waivers, and she never seems to be uncertain or afraid. She sees the positive in every situation. She makes me wish I had been a Christian when I went through my divorce.

TP is the baby in the bunch, just in her mid-twenties but so mature and grounded. She is lovely inside and out, and brings a fresh insight to our discussions.

TE is the holy roller in our group. She says she’s been saved since she was 3 years old. She knows her Bible and reads a lot of Christian books. She’s blunt and often says what needs to be said (that no one else wants to say).

What can I Say? This group of women has become like a sisterhood for me. I joyfully look forward to each Monday as a time of relaxation, spiritual growth, and fellowship. Mondays will never be the same again!

2 comments

  1. I’m so happy that you’ve found such a great group of women! :o)


  2. Every woman should find her Yada-Yada group. Enjoy! I’m so happy for you.



Leave a Reply

