h1

Doing Good

January 23, 2007

Make the most of every opportunity for doing good in these evil times. Ephesians 5:16 (NLT)

Last week my Bible study group talked about Scripture memorization. I’m not good at remembering much of anything, but the more we talked about memorizing Scriptures and why it is so important, the more I wanted to “hide verses in my heart.” One of the women in our group said that she prints Scriptures on small cards and tapes them up at various locations in her house. When she memorizes one of the verses, she takes it down and puts a different one up.

I decided to try her technique, and the verse listed above is stuck on the clothes dryer in the basement. Every time I’ve gone down there, I’ve recited the verse over and over while I folded, sorted, and washed.

The results have been pretty amazing. Not only have I started to remember the verse verbatim, I’ve started acting on it as well. I have arranged for a family who lost everything in a house fire to receive a new sofa and recliner, I’ve invited a financially struggling, newly separated mom and her son over for dinner, I’ve freecycled stuff that I would normally hold onto for the next big yard sale, etc. I’m doing good. And it feels good!

If there’s an opportunity to do some good, seize it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

