h1

Keep That Mess at Home, Would Ya?

January 14, 2007

Today was my monthly Sunday School duty at church, teaching the kindergarten and first grade students about David & Goliath. One of the students, who also happens to be a neighbor of mine, was lethargic from the moment he arrived. As in head on the table, nearly passed out lethargic. Normally he’s a live wire, hopping up out of his seat, talking non-stop, etc. Not today.

I knew something was wrong and kept asking him if he was tired, if he wanted me to get his parents, if he felt okay, and so on. He would barely even answer me, and it seemed like he didn’t even have the strength to talk.

puke.gifAbout halfway through the lesson, he suddenly puked all over the table. Two of the four other children start going on about how they will puke too if they see/smell/hear vomit, so I instruct them to turn away. Frankly, I was a bit worried about my own frail constitution, as I was the one who had to clean it up. And apparently he’d had some sort of dairy product for breakfast. Ugh.

Thankfully, Trevor was in there helping me, so I sent him to get the child’s parents while I cleaned up, sanitized the table, washed my hands and talked the other kids out of puking too. Trevor came back and informed me that this boy had apparently thrown up at home this morning BEFORE coming to church. Excuse me? The kid’s vomited once and you think it’s still okay to take him to church? Why, so you can get a 90 minute break from being a parent?

Okay, I admit, that was kind of harsh; I guess you’d have to know my history of interactions with this couple, something I won’t go into now but should probably blog about some other day. If I’m wrong, and it was just a case of not wanting to miss the week’s Bible lesson, then they should have cracked open the good book at home in their living room and had a discussion amongst themselves. It was incredibly stupid and inconsiderate to bring a vomiting child (who may have a contagious stomach bug for all we know) into a public environment with other people.

2 comments

  1. ACK! I hate that!

    And I do just the opposite. If mine are even excessively sniffly we do a devotion at home instead!


  2. Julie, I don’t think you were too harsh at all. There were many other choices his parents could have made, but they chose to expose a whole classroom full of kids to a potential virus. I’d call it downright selfish and inconsiderate. But I’m mean like that.



Leave a Reply

