h1

It’s January. It’s 73 Degrees.

January 7, 2007

I don’t usually write about something as inane and boring as the weather, but the weather here has been nothing short of freaky. Normally, an unusually warm day in January would see a high temperature somewhere between 50 and 55 degrees. Today we had a high of 73. And you know what? I didn’t like it. In fact, it made me quite cranky.

I realized that spending my entire life in the mid-Atlantic region has made me rather attuned to the change of seasons. Spring is moist and mild, summer is hot and humid, and fall is cool and crisp. (Pretty good alliteration, wouldn’t you say?)

Anyway, I expect winter to be cold, but for the most part not unbearably so. I do not like feeling obligated to go outside and do yardwork because “it’s such a nice day.” On the other hand, I don’t much feel like staying inside the house and mopping the floors because I’ll work up a sweat doing it. Today, I ended up doing both. Lucky me. (Not!)

While I was outside, I persuaded Dan to discard the no-longer-functional weed whacker that was propped up against a tree, rescued my cookie sheet from Sophia’s sandbox, disposed of (or hid) Dan’s rubbish that was scattered throughout the yard, decided to Freecycle a few things, cleaned out the car, wished I’d worn a tee shirt and capris, and found two plastic bottles to recycle. And, oh yeah, I also saw this:

camellia.jpg

When my attention was finally turned to the inside of the house, I took care of laundry, dishes, cleaning the toilet, vacuuming, and mopping. Then I did what any self respecting woman would do.

I went shopping.

Two hours later, I returned to find a reasonably tidy (for us) driveway, a clean house, and a hungry family. Cooked dinner, got Sophia to bed, and tried to scrap but this unseasonably warm weather has robbed me of my scrapping mojo. I did one really lame page (basically, I stuck two pieces of Trevor’s artwork on a 12×12 sheet and cut out a title with my trusty Sizzix Sidekick), then spent 45 minutes on a second page that I ended up deciding that I didn’t like, and threw it away. I can’t do Christmas layouts when it’s 70 degrees outside!

So, enough of my whining. Hopefully January will start to feel like January soon. I truly didn’t realize how neurotic I was about weather and the change of seasons until this year. Now I know I could never live in Florida or the southwest. It would just seem too strange for me.

Leave a Reply

