h1

Coupon Madness

December 30, 2006

clipcoupons.jpgThis morning I got an email from my friend Lisa, who was kind enough to tell me that one of our local grocery stores was doubling all coupons up to $1 Friday through Sunday. Whoo hoo! (As Lisa says, it doesn’t take much to get us excited! LOL)

I spent an hour or so going through my coupons, reviewing the online sales circular, checking expiration dates, etc., then headed off to the store before the other cut-throat coupon shoppers cleaned out the shelves.

I got $226 worth of groceries for $101. Here are some of my better deals:

  • 2 boxes Pillsbury Family Size Brownie Mix, both FREE
  • 2 bottles of Nesquik Flavored Milk Drink, both FREE (I checked the dates on these carefully after I noticed that one flavor on the shelves had a sell by date of December 23! Ugh!)
  • 2 tubs of Olivio Margarine, 19 cents each
  • 4 Apple & Eve juice box packs, 99 cents each
  • 2 boxes Eggo waffles — both were supposed to be FREE but the discount didn’t ring up correctly, so now I will have to go back to the store with my receipt. Grrrr.
  • 2 GUM toothbrushes, 49 cents each
  • 4 packs of Pillsbury Ready to Bake cookies, $1 each
  • 6 boxes of Scotties tissues — they were supposed to be 58 cents each but, again, there was some sort of computer malfunction and I’ll need to go back to the store to chat with Customer Service.
  • 2 bags of No Yolks noodles, 39 cents each
  • 2 tubs of Shedd’s Country Crock plus calcium, 50 cents each

So, there are two morals to this story. One, clip coupons and hold onto them because you never know when a good sale will hit. Two, always review your receipt because the store may not be crediting all of your savings to you. The mistakes that I found add up to just a tad over $3, which isn’t a whole lot but over time those little computer errors at the check out could certainly add up.

Leave a Reply

