h1

De-Clutter de House: Room 2

December 18, 2006

I have great news! My mom is paying for me to get a new kitchen counter as my Christmas present this year. Pretty soon I will be able to wipe down the countertop without (a) thinking about how much I hate avocado green or (b) having to wedge the sponge/towel down into the receding grout line between the tiles to pick up the stray crumbs and/or water. Oh happy day!

Today the official home improvement guy came to do the official measurement for the countertop. Dan had already done an extremely detailed diagram with measurements but we decided to pay for their guy to do it. This way, if there is a mistake and the countertop is cut incorrectly, I can get upset without it having an adverse affect on my marriage. LOL

So, as I was thinking about the measurement guy and my counter top, I realized that there was no way he would be able to measure it very effectively with all the junk I had piled on top of it. (It also occurred to me that maybe piling the countertops with stuff was my subconscious way of dealing with the ugly green-ness of it.)

Time to declutter another room! And it was another doozy of a room, too! I actually didn’t get rid of much stuff this time around; mainly I just found new places to keep things and/or rearranged them.

Here’s section 1 of the countertop before.

kitchen1before.JPG

And section 1 after the de-cluttering:

kitchen1after.JPG

There’s still quite a bit of stuff up there, but it’s more orderly now, and more of the counter surface is exposed/usable. For instance, I can actually see/reach/use the boom box. Next, section 2 before I tackled it:

kitchen2before.JPG

And section 2 afterwards:

kitchen2after.JPG

Finally, section 3 of the counter top, which I am happiest with because now it makes sense, Before:

kitchen3before.JPG

And after:

kitchen3after.JPG

Now I have the coffee pot over by the sugar, creamer, spoon rest and travel mugs, which makes so much sense I don’t know why I didn’t think of it before. I also moved my super-cool face crock up where it can be seen (and utensils can be removed without hitting the bottom of the microwave). The trays for the toaster oven are now stored inside the toaster oven (much neater), the dog biscuits for our neighbor’s pet are in a clear plastic container instead of a bright red box, and the spices are to the right of the cooktop where I can reach them without extending an arm over two potentially hot burners.

Yippee! I’m liking this. (And in case you’re wondering, my den is still fairly decluttered. Dan and the kids are trying their best to clutter it up again but I sweep through every night and put their stuff at their place on the dining room table to be put away posthaste.)

Now, I would be lying if I said I didn’t still have problem areas in the kitchen — right now the island is overflowing with things that I didn’t get around to finding a new home for, and there are supplies of sodas and juice boxes sitting at the foot of the oven. I just ran out of time before I could do the whole kitchen. We had parent-teacher conferences at Trevor’s school, then dinner and then a Bible study to go to. I’m planning on finishing up the kitchen tomorrow and will hopefully have before and after pictures of that work too. As for right now, I’m going to have some well-deserved down time…

2 comments

  1. Yay you! Looks excellent!

    I did part of my kitchen today too, so I’m feeling kinda proud right along with you. :o)


  2. Good job. I love your cabinets they are beautiful.



Leave a Reply

