h1

When You Least Expect It…

December 16, 2006

… you might end up having fun.

christmas-concert.jpgLast night we went to a Christmas concert; the bass player in the band is Dan’s business partner. I didn’t want to go. And the fact that I’d had an all-day headache certainly didn’t add to my enthusiasm.

I ended up enjoying it very much; and amazingly, my sullen pre-teen (who wanted to go even less than I did) also enjoyed it! Sophia was totally into the music, singing along and clapping her hands even when no one else was. At one point, she looked at me and said, “Mom, that girl that’s singing right now… she’s a really good singer!”

The concert was a great mix of traditional Christmas carols, comedy sketches, song parodies and modern Christmas tunes. They played one of my favorites, “Christmas in Killarney,” which I was thrilled to hear. And, well, I will simply say that you just haven’t lived until you’ve heard a punk rock rendition of “Frosty the Snowman.” Kudos to the band!

I love these moments, when I am convinced I won’t enjoy something and then am pleasantly surprised at how much I really do enjoy it.

One comment

  1. Oooh, sounds like fun! I love kitschy, meant-to-be-fun programs like that!



Leave a Reply

