h1

A Christmas Meme

December 15, 2006

merry-christmas.gif

I know I’m blogging lite here lately… blame it on holiday preparations. Hopefully next week I will have enough crossed off on the To Do list that I can string a few sentences together without feeling totally worn out by the effort. In the meantime, here’s a Christmas meme.
1. Egg nog or hot chocolate? Eggnog, sans alcohol.

2. Does Santa wrap presents or just sit them under the tree? Presents from Santa are always unwrapped.

3. Colored lights or white lights on tree/house? White and not blinking.

4. Do you hang mistletoe? Sometimes. I got a sprig of it at church but haven’t hung it yet — it’s still sitting on my desk.

5. When do you put up your decorations? The day after Thanksgiving.

6. What is your favorite holiday dish (excluding dessert)? Every Christmas morning I make something called Raspberry Jubilee. I got the recipe from a Bed & Breakfast that Dan and I stayed at in New York. It’s a super rich French toast dish with cream cheese, cinnamon, and raspberries. And you serve it with Cool Whip.

7. Favorite childhood holiday memory. Visiting my grandmothers — one on Christmas Eve and one on Christmas Day.

8. When and how did you learn the truth about Santa? I’m not sure. I think someone told me when I was in second or third grade, but I was in complete denial, and Santa brought me presents clear up until I was 18, I think. Trevor knows the truth now too but I told him if he so much as speaks it out loud he will not receive anything from Santa… you have to believe to receive! (Or at least pretend to believe! LOL)

9. Do you open a gift on Christmas Eve? The kids are each allowed to open one present on Christmas Eve. Everything else has to wait until Christmas.

10. How do you decorate your Christmas tree? Tree topper first, then Dan dos the lights, then I do the ornaments.

11. Snow: love it or dread it? Love it since it only happens once in a while.

12. Can you ice skate? Oh, heck no!

13. Do you remember your favorite gift? There isn’t one that really stands out in my mind, although I remember several. My least favorite gift was the $150 Victoria’s Secret bathrobe that my ex husband gave me. Because it was so expensive, he didn’t give me anything else. And then he bragged about how nice it was to everyone who came over, made me show it to them, etc. Sheesh.

14. What’s the most important thing to you about the holidays? Honestly, I love pretty much all of it — celebrating the birth of Christ, getting to surprise people with gifts that I’m excited about giving, having a week or more where I don’t have to do eBay work and Dan is off from his job, etc.

15. What is your favorite holiday dessert? Pretty much anything as long as it doesn’t have nuts.

16. What is your favorite holiday tradition? Driving around to look at people’s lights, the candelight church service, ravioli and sausage at my mother-in-law’s house.

17. What tops your tree? A faux stained glass star.

18. Which do you prefer: giving or receiving gifts? I like giving, but receiving isn’t bad, either.

19. What is your favorite Christmas song? “God Rest Ye, Merry Gentlemen” (which hardly anyone sings any more).

20. Favorite Christmas movie? “It’s a Wonderful Life,” of course. Also “The Year Without a Santa Claus.”

Leave a Reply

